The Sydney Era


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 13th 2008
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My houseMy houseMy house

Bright Street
Wow! I can't belive the last 3 months have gone, just like that! That makes me 1/4 way though my year in Oz...... how time flies when your having fun.

I'll try not to go on forever, as most of you that still remember who I am probably already know what I've been doing with myself for the last 3 months. But anyway, this is as much for me to keep track of where the hell I am as much as anyone else!!

So after having my first 'sunny' christmas here at the 'Longleat Retreat' in the Blue Mountains, I was exceptionally efficient in getting my act together and moved out into what would be my home for the next 3 months, in Sydney's delightful Bright Street! My friend Danielle that I had been working with in Uganda needed a new house mate and my timing was perfect! I then started work for Sydney Bush Regeneration Company as a Bush Regenerator (again Dan may have helped me out here). What that means if you google it is 'regenerating the bush'!! Ok, so a better explanation might be weeding, but also planting native trees and shrubs, cutting down 'weedy' trees and bushes, and terracing. It was an awesome job. I loved everyday of it, no word of a lie. Yes even on the days when I got leaches, ticks, ant bites or mites! Because being outside and getting to watch the sunrise over the ocean while at work, or those lunchtime naps in the shade in long buffalo grass were TOTALLY worth it! And then there's the bonus feel good factor of doing your bit for the environment in a world that seems to think we'll just buy a new one off ebay when we've completely wrecked this one!!! So that is what I've been doing Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm for the last 3 months. But that leaves lots of time for lots of other stuff!!

Dan and I have been joined at the hip these last 3 months. Not only did we live and work together but she just started climbing at the same time as me so we often hit the indoor climbing gym together to work on those overhangs, which we then put to use on a couple of trips out to the Blue Mountains on the weekends.

Another new skill I've aquired whilst in Sydney is
Australia day!!Australia day!!Australia day!!

Dan and Han. Or was Han and Dan? Oh and i may have dyed my hair to confuse the dilema!
juggling. Yes, thought my CV needed that something extra! So Wednesday has been juggling night, followed by beer or coffee in one of the many hangouts in Newtown, the suburb next to where we live that is an absolute coffee and dessert house heaven. (I've eaten a lot of cheesecake and carrott cake to more than make up for my year in Africa I reckon!!!)

I did manage to get away from Sydney a couple times (though it proved very difficult as there's always some music/arty festival going on to lure you into the city on the weekend). I went up the central coast a couple of times to visit Kincumber, where Dan was born and raised. Went on a hens night with all her girlfriends camping up in a National Park on the beach. Lots of surfing and wine. Thats my idea of a hens night!

So i promised I'd keep it short. In essence thats what I spent my 3 months in Sydney doing. Having lots of fun and making lots of really good friends! That era is over now though. It couldn't last forever.

On to my next adventure..................








Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Does it need a title???Does it need a title???
Does it need a title???

Yes I did the touristy thing a coule of days.


28th April 2008

Harbour bridge
Have you walked over the top yet Ihear you can go over using a gibbon hook and a safty harnes no more dangerous than going up the mast of your dads yacht on a bosuns chair

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb