Manic Monday


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 5th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

The infamous Opera House
Monday was a busy day for us. MN stayed home most of the day, still trying to get over her flu. Lynds had orientation and a job interview. I had to go into the city for a job interview as well. This is a good time for me to explain the job situation. Since I’ve received congratulatory messages on my new job, I thought I needed to clear it up. Yes, in last week’s journal I talked about waitressing. Lynds and I both had what they call a trial run at the Beach Pit, a restaurant near the beach. The management, whom we are not to fond of, said they would call us to let us know. However, we never really got one such call. Lynds got a text message late Friday night for her to come in Saturday morning, but that was so unprofessional she didn’t go. So, as of now, we are not employed with the Beach Pit. Lynds actually called them today and they want her to work, I’ve decided against calling them.
I’m very excited because I have an interview with this place called Barracuda. It’s a really nice restaurant with beautiful ocean views and the manager is American. Everyone keep their fingers crossed. Today, I also dropped off my resume at that fantastic deli around the corner that I spoke so highly of Saturday. They said they would be in touch. I’m really hoping one of these works out! Anyway, back to today’s interview….I had this interview with this company called Kelly Services. Basically they place people with other companies for three month job contracts. The role involves working with a bank making customer calls and stuff….great pay with good incentives, but I don’t think I want to have to take the ferry into Sydney every day. Funny sidenote: we had to do role-playing with the employer….so I had to look over customer details and make fake calls to customers, four to be exact, however they were really all to the employer. They wanted to see how we reacted to customers being rude and stuff. I thought I had totally tanked the exercise, just imagine me with a headset trying to sell a credit card to customers, laughable right!?! Anyway, the lady came back in when I was done and said she was amazed at my resilience and selling skills haha. I don’t say this to be cocky, but because I think it is absolutely hilarious. She said instead of me working in customer service, she wants to find me a sales job. Anyway, so that was the interview….good experience and great laugh!
I made my way back to Manly on the ferry, gosh I never get sick of it, it’s such a beautiful ride! Yall will be happy to know I actually took some pics from the ferry, so yall can get an idea of the beauty that surrounds us.
Until next time!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th September 2005

Confusion
Clear up something for me---you guys live in Manly, a suburb of Sydney???? and you have to ride a ferry to Syndet???
8th September 2005

Hello
Hey Caroline! This is the greatest invention. I have loved reading about your adventures. I can't wait to read more. Have a fantastic time and I love you!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb