Taronga Zoo: Surviving Jurassic Park


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I haven't much time at the moment, but I thought I would update briefly while I am on the Macquarie Uni campus with free wi-fi. Last Friday I went to Taronga Zoo with the others from my program, which was incredibly fortunate, as that means it was free.

Taronga zoo appears to be an island and the general populous can only access its wild wonders by ferry. As the 20 minute ride came to an end and our boat reached the island, a wave of deja vu overtook me...I was in Jurassic Park...

Obviously I've never been to Jurassic Park, as far as I know you can't climb into movies. But our entire group was overtaken with the general sort of feelings you get when approaching a jungle island full of creatures who are dying to make you the main course at their Christmas dinner. It really did look like the beginning of the movie as well. We hesitantly stepped onto the dock, and were ushered into little cable cars and transported to the top of the island. The cable car ride gives you an excellent aerial view of the zoo's large array of deadly beasts as well as a nice view of the Sydney Harbor and skyline, which is good for taking your mind off the fact that King Kong just ripped your only friend to pieces.

We got a guided tour of the Australian creatures, many of which I saw for the first time. Koalas, Kangaroos, Wallabies, Wombats, Echidnas, many flying rodents and squirells, Tasmanian devils, and Dingoes. We saw ALOT of birds, though there are incredible birds flying everywhere outside of the zoos, so its really not that spectacular.

My favorite by far way the posionous platypus. Platypuses are INCREDIBLE, and the males have poisonous spikes on their back feet that will put you in the hospital for a month or two. (see www.ryanphotographic.com/ platypus.htm for a picture). I could've watched them swim for hours, but the tour had to move along. They can't see underwater, so watching them swim in hilarious.

Anywho, despite the fact that our group number was significantly reduced after the trip to Taronga, I managed to make it out alive and would highly recommend a visit if you are in the Sydney vicinity, just be sure to steer clear of the portapotties. ;-)

More to come soon, probably by the time all of you who usually read this awaken tommorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb