Letter 7.5 from Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi folks - back in Sydney and looking to get you caught up on the Australia story before I hit the skies for home again!! am excited and depressed at the same time - to say the least - life will never be the same!!
I think that I left off at the Myella ranch so that is where we will start!
APril 21- had b'fast over an open flame again and then off for the day - first I picked out my horse for the day - a nice guy called lancelot and I learned how to saddle and bridle him- well to tell the truth I already knew how to do some of it but the cowhand who was teaching me was cute so you know............. then at 9 am the fun started as we began branding, dehorning andear tagging the 42 cows who had arrived the day before - I only branded 6 myself and declined the dehorning bit as it was bloody and the cows were not happy!!!After a billy of tea and cookies we got to drive the cows to the paddock (field ) where they would stay for the next few days until the owner saw if there were any problems before they were put out on the range for the next 2 yrs to fatten up - yeah on what I'd like to know as range grass is brown and sparce!! anyway, Jane and I were with the group who were bringing up the rear and gathering up the strays - It was a hoot to see Jane try to sweet talk her horse to do anything!! We worked for about 3 hrs in the saddle and I turned a steer on my own ( well with some help from lancelot) -was I ever proud - and butt sore!! On the way home one of the hands wanted to teach us how to gallop - I think not- Jane and I sat under a tree and watched - any maybe laughed a little!! Jane and I meandered home slowly with our horses. After we got home we had to unsaddle and wash down our horses and feed them - felt just like a real cowhand!! dressed in our very lovely jeans and shirts and don't forget the hats!!
After dinner - we took motorcycle lessons and I passed barely and Jane - well it was not pretty as the guy was again not real personable and a little - no a lot bossy - I quit after 10 laps - Jane after 1/2 lap....
Oh...guess what - because we were nurses we got to look after a horse that had been gored by a steer - hence the no horn policy on the ranch- we wee invited to irrigate, debride and give a shot to a horse named trigger- what fun we had playing nurse but after consulting we declined the honor of giving him the injection. I then led him back to the stall and fed him supper.
At 5:30 we were off to see the sunset - I know it must be #23 Australian sunset but it was nice ot see it over the grasslands and yes I have pictures of this also!! Now back to the ranch for a shower, another beer - we earned it - and supper - then we fed the injured wallabies and kangaroos - using artifical pouches - it was fun and so cute because they just roll into the pouches headfirst and leave their tails out!! then you get to rock and cuddle them in the pouches to replace what they don't get from their missing moms!! The boys are sleeping on the hammocks again but not jane or I - nope - back to the air conditioned rooms

Apr 22 - Up for b'ast and to check on our sick horse - doing well - declined milking a cow - thought I already knew how to do that but did do the baby kangeroo thing again and then off to Brisbane for 760 km drive - ug !!
It is a long long day and we arrive after dark to put up tents - surprise, surprise!! then off for fish and chips - Jane and I are first and the guy is just closing so we persuade him to stay open and then I run back to the camp to tell everyone to leave the tents and eat now!!!! when we get back to the site - apparently we have all pitched our tents in the wrong place but who cares.......we go to bed and the guys go to the pub. once again we have to share bathroom keys so the nearest bush looks good for the night trips - at this point I am so tired that I DON'T CARE!! We have to be up at 6 am !!!!!!!!!!

Apr 23 - We are up, ready and off at 7 am for the ferry to the famous Morton Island - a sand island with the biggest sand dunes in the world - isn't that just something that would make you get up at 6 am??!! We take a ferry the size of the Deer Island ferry as foot passengers with our back packs and food for 2 days and oh yes 100 school kids age 12 - 14 - who steal some of our beer on the way but are so stupid they hide it in their packs instead of drinking it - duh ! deserved to get caught !! It is a lovely 2 hr ride in the hot sunshine and we just relax. Our hostel when we arrive is just off the beach where we land and off we go - there are sunken boats right beside us to explore and snorkel - life is looking up already!! our host is a guy called Al who weighs about 400 lbs (and I'm being nice and no we're not going to be calling him "bid AL" as he doesn't like it!! the island is isolated, serene and sunny - beautiful!! the only way to get around is by 4 wheel drive and there are no roads only paths thru the woods and the beach - yup we are talking primitive here - but there are bathrooms and showers!! so it is good!! the isle is 28 km long and 1 km wide at one end and 19 km at the other end - all of it sand with vegetation that will only grow in sand... get the idea sand is everywhere and I haven't even put my bathing suit on yet!! most of the isle is national park except for the hostel and an expensive resort on the other end of the isle. After dinner, we are off exploring on the 2 - 4 wheel drives and one breaks down on the beach- radiator we think so I get to go for a 2 mile walk on the lovely white sandy beach while we await rescue ! then off to the sand dunes for a slide - I take one look and decline but Jane is up for one slide - you guessed it - the sand was everywhere - the sand dune was about the height of crabbe mt and it was fast as you waxed the board before starting - we stayed about 1 1/2 hrs as it took long time to climb back up the sand dune before the quick rides down - and no I did not feel bad about declining the honor as I watched the sand come out of crevices??!!## no one was injured - that was good
after everyone was finished we went off to swim and then home where It was Jane and I's turn to get supper - there is everthing to work with in this kitchen except a toaster!! funny eh-
our feet are black from the sand, the stove is gas - good luck with that and we have 3 taps to use - one for drinking and the other 2 have brown water - full of iron for everything else!!
After supper, we sit and yak and the guys play a drinking game - I fall asleep to the sound of kookaburas squawking and the sound of surf - not hard to handle - oh and I have a double bed to myself - so I can snore to my heart's content!!!what a lovely relaxing day we have had- now to bed!!
Apr 24 - up at 8:30 to climb Mt tempest before it gets too hot - the highest part of the island and 1 km hike thru sand to get to the top -off we go in fliip flops and bathing suits! What a hot climb but beautiful and peaceful at the top!!Then off to a fresh water lake to wash the sweat off - I love it about the size of Harvey lake and also spring fed - even had eel grass growing in one end!!- oh.... only much much warmer! after cooling off we went to the beach for dinner on the pacific side of the island - went for a mile walk on the beach for dinner but no swimming as ++ sharks in the water.
In the afternoon, we wen to the north end of the island for snnorkelling, boogie boarding and swimming - I loved the champaygne pool that was like a airation pool from the waves splashing on the hot rocks and raining down on you - great fun!! Jane hurt her arm boogie boarding so I chickened out and just snorkelled - more new fish to see!!
By now it is mid afternoon and hot so back to the hostel for a midday nap - then supper and another snorkel at the ship wreck and some wine- then a quiet night in front of the TV - what a treat - CSI and all!! People are a little sad that the trip is coming to an end I think!!
Apr 25 - off the island at 10:30 by ferry - Jane is adamant she is coming back for a week with a significant other - so the men in F'ton better be watching as she is serious - I think!!
On the bus for 5 hrs to get to Byron Bay and it is raining when we get there - not good - tents again and we are 5 miles from town so off we go in the bus to find a place to eat at 8 pm - I am so tired I could eat anything anywhere!!from what we can see it is a lovely beachside village heavy into surfing and girls - the guys are happy and stay at the pub - Jane and I come home in the rain and go to bed - hopefully -sunny in am - our air mattresses died last week so we are sleeping on the hard ground but are too cheap to buy new ones for the last week!! In the middle of the night someone put a tent up next to us to party but it was gone by morning and Jane and I didn't hear a thing!!
Apr 26 - many quiet hung over sad young people who are going to take surfing lessons today - I again decline - I know getting old - but it is cool and cloudy and I am going to take a long walk on the beach and do some emailing and shopping - good for 4 hrs - Jane is going to read in the truck - the others are all going to get wet!! actually , they have a great time and after we again fix the bus - a tire this time -
we are off again for a 540km drive to Port McQuarrie - where we are staying in a hostel so let it rain - we don't care!!! we hear there is a "red cell" over Sidney with flooding and non stop rain x 3 days so we aren't anxious to get there until we have to - we decide to spend 2 days in Port McQuarrie instead of drivivng closer as there is a sl chance the rain might hold off!! It is night when we arrive - surprise !! and we are tired and hot and it is again raining - but not hard!! the hostel is owned by Attila the hun's sister who is gestapo to say the least and we are given beds with others who are already asleep - imagine how happy you would be if you were asleep and 12 grumpy people came into your room!! yup that is how happy they were!! we had finally eaten at the Red Rooster about 1/2 h away from the hostel. she put me on the top bunk so when she left I just dumped it onto the floor for the nite - I was not climbing up and down in the night several times -so there!! Others went to bed - I socialized with a swiss girl, a dutch lad and a german girl - had a lovely talk - slept well on the mattress and snored well !!
Apr 27 - leisurely morning - did a wash - water not brown - and then off to town in the rain - Jane had her hair cut - looked good so I did the same and...........got scalped !! what a mess - thank goodness I don't go to work for 2 weeks!!had to buy more hair dye to cover the roots it had been cut so short!! Decided to make pancakes for our last day so bought the stuff and then had to carry it all home - got lost in the rain and found myself by the harbour- deja vu ...but I don't cry because it is daylight and I am going to find my way home before my arms fall off!!
arrvie home just in time for social hr and barbeque put on by Atilla!! good stuff except I guess I told her I thought the steak was tuff!! oops!!had a nap after supper then playing cards - actually won one hand after 41 days on the road- maybe they let me! ................then party got loud and I decided to go to bed before Atilla came out of her room !! slept on the floor again!!

Apr 28 - last day of tour - good pancake breakfast -30 ++ pancakes - altho their mixes do not rise like the Canadian ones! Francis wanted lemon and sugar on his pancakes - I did not kill him but it is close!!! I even invited old grouch Andrew to have one....I then snuck out the door before Atilla came out of her room - whew!!
Off to Billobong game preserve to see the feeding of Kaolas and say goodby to kangaroos etc - found the we had seen most of the animals in the wild that we saw at the preserve. It was raining but still nice - saw an albino kangaroo and peacock!! at noon started our last 500 km together - everyone is quiet on the trip until................bang - yup you guessed it - blew a tire about 1 hr out of Sydney and had to wait about 2 1/2 hr for rescue - by the time we got to the hotel, I was bushed - Jane and I were supposed to meet the others at 10 pm for supper and drinks but we ate take out pizza and crashed - Jane even had her clothes laid out but - nope - not moving ! We slept 11 hrs straight!!

The next few days we are spending in Sydney and I will let you know what we did when I get home as I am very busy trying to get every thing done that we wanted to do

I will be home on May 4 and back to normal - uhm.............never!!!

love to everyone aussie anne

Then we are off to see



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb