The Frog Blog


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 4th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who know me well, you are probably familiar with my juvenile attachment to my stuffed animals. When I was a little girl, my cousin Barb started me on the habit of buying the stuffed animal with deformities at the store because it was least likely to be purchased by anyone else. We are also known for rescuing the lonely stuffed animal in the store who was likely shoved on a shelf in the wrong aisle, away from its friends, by some little kid whose parents refused to buy it. If we didn’t purchase the stuffed animal then and there, we would certainly find the aisle in which it belonged and return it to its family.

Even in my adulthood, I have trouble getting rid of my stuffed animals. In the past, I have either given them away for free to the little kids who frequented my grandmother’s garage sales every summer, or I would donate them to those less fortunate. However, some of my favorite stuffed animals have been those given to me for some special occasion or by some special person in my life. Amongst those animals that I still have awaiting my return back home are my puppet Bear (given to me by Barb at a tough time in my life), my angel Bear (given to me by Mike when his dad was in the hospital), Gene’s childhood Papa Smurf, small Dog (given to me by my grandmother one day when I was home sick from school), and big Dog (originally given by me to Gene, but rescued by me in the middle of his dusty remodel).

Big Dog had become a permanent fixture in our bed at night, despite his large size and Gene’s multiple objections. He had also become my emotional crutch, in absence of Gene, over the past year. Terribly heartbroken that I had to leave Dog behind for a year, I determined to bring along a smaller companion to share in our adventure and stories…that’s where Cranky Frog comes in.

One day after work and a petty squabble with the hubby, I came home to Cranky Frog sitting on the kitchen counter, as a peace-offering from Gene. Even in happy times, Cranky Frog always had a puss on his face. We decided that he could use a little adventure. Since our departure from Chicago, we are convinced that we have seen him smile quite frequently. He’s quite a ham and loves the camera.









Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th March 2007

OMG!
You 2 R 2 funny! And a little "off"! But that's why I love ya!
8th March 2007

gina sawyer - pet lover
im shocked, shocked i tell you, to see you are taking a stuffed animal across the entire planet. be sure to introduce it to its parents in china... unless it was hecho en mexico.
9th March 2007

LMAO!
9th March 2007

Grand Frog
First I get a grand cat now a grand frog. His name is perfect... He looks just like Gene. LMAO

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb