Sydney Day 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a pretty smooth flight, where i actually managed to catch quite a bit of sleep, I am finally here, Sydney, Australia, city of the famous Opera house, the harbor bridge and kangaroo steaks. :-)
Wow, what a first day. After arriving early at 7:15 am I caught the shuttle to check into my new home, the Blue Parrot Backpacker in Kings Cross, Sydney. After getting to know my new roomates, taking a shower, and changing into tevas, shorts and a tan-top (it is truely summer here, about 88 F or 28 C), it was off to explore the city. In a nutshell, I managed to see the beautiful Botanical Gardens on my way to the harbor, and came upon the breathtaking view of the bridge and the opera house upon exiting the Garden. WOW, just amamzing. And as all good tourists, I managed to walk a ton, went on a harbor cruise to check out the 100's of sailboats that were cruising in the bay, , saw the pacific ocean crash into the shore in huge waves, toured and shopped at the artists market in the Rocks, checked out Darling Harbor, and ended the day with a bit of cheese and crackers on the Domain (the lawn of the Botanical Gardens), where the Sydney Symphonie Orchestra performed for me and about 100,000 of my closests new friends. What an atmosphere, the grand finale was Tschykowsky and fireworks under the stars. All in all not a bad first day in Sydney. :-)

Since I am now thoroughly exhausted, I will try to hit the pillow and ignore the Saturday evening hobknob in the hostel. Actually i don't think i would hear a train come through our room.

so, signing off for the night.

good night mates

Steffi

P.S. pictures will follow shortly, but the internel conncetion here at the Blue Parrot is a bit limited. Anyhow, i promise i took tons :-)


Advertisement



21st January 2007

wow
I'm so jealous!!!!!!!ich will auch in die sonne!!!hoert sich toll an;du hast schon soviel erlebt obwohl du grade erst angekommen bist...;-) geniesse die zeit down under.... liebe gruesse,josi ps-hoffe das wir bald die ersten bilder zu sehen kriegen....;)

Tot: 0.573s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 19; qc: 64; dbt: 0.5099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb