Next stop: Luxembourg


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 29th 2018
Published: May 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

So there I am at the end of my journey... It was clear that all good things would come to an end and still I can‘t believe that it‘s over. Taking a gap year was the best decision that I could have made no matter what people say. A break from everyone and everything.
I finally had time to think about many different things. Time to think about the last years, the people that matter to me, new challenges and goals that I would like to achieve and I guess life in general.
I met the most amazing people from all around the world, lived in a car for 8 months, hiked up several mountains, saw the rare Kiwi bird, visited many national parks, didn’t shower for a week, jumped out of an airplane, did rafting at the highest commercially rafted waterfall in the world, tried out new jobs, jumped from a 13m high cliff into freezing cold water, got completely lost and felt as free as never before, had some amazing nights, swam in ice cold waters, went surfing, saw my first rugby game, got up early to see the sunrise as the first person on earth, went diving with
sharks, stayed up all night to watch the beautiful starry skies, hitchhiked for the first time, explored hidden beaches that seriously seemed to be paradise on earth, went snorkeling with Manta Rays, managed exhausting hikes that eventually led me to a view that left me speechless and simply had all these memories that I‘ll try to remember from the second that I stepped into the airplane 9 months ago.
This trip made me grow in ways that I didn’t even know were possible. It taught me to love myself, to be more self- confident, to enjoy moments without overthinking, to laugh maybe a bit too loud and to simply enjoy the right here and right now because it‘s all that really matters.
I seriously never thought that I would gain all these life skills.
Sitting at the airport makes me incredibly sad as it‘s the end of a very good chapter in my life... However I‘m looking forward to see family and friends to tell them about all my adventures. But most important to hold them in my arms and tell them how much I missed them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb