Winter days in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Potts Point
July 22nd 2012
Published: July 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Two months in Sydney and it's gone in a flash. When I first moved here I thought I would be able to update this blog with all sorts of interesting adventures, however in reality all I can boast of is having found somewhere to live, organised some furniture, and gone to work. A lot.

However I have no complaints at all, and I am making new discoveries every day.

I have a gorgeous apartment in Potts Point, with an incredible view over the city. I look over the Woolloomooloo wharf, over to the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House. This view was the real drawcard for the apartment, and admiring the view with a glass of wine at the end of the day is a very good way to make your cares melt away.

Potts Point is a small suburb a few minutes walk from Kings Cross. "The Cross" as it generally known as, is a red light district and late night clubbing destination, meaning that it is full of very interesting sights at any time of day or night! It's five minutes from my apartment in one direction, however a few minutes walk in another direction are the restaurants, cafes and boutiques of Potts Point. It's a tiny suburb, not more than 1 kilometre long by 200 metres wide, however one of the most densely populated suburbs in Australia. The proximity to Kings Cross, Elizabeth Bay and Rushcutters Bay make it cosmopolitan, vibrant and a really exciting place to live.

I am slowly getting to see a little bit more of the city. For starters, my walk to work takes me past the Woolloomooloo finger wharf, up through the botanic gardens to Martin Place, and through the city. Then if I ever get a chance to go out at lunch, it's only a pleasant ten minute stroll down to Circular Quay and The Rocks.

Not long after I moved to Sydney, I had a lovely evening in Circular Quay at the Vivid lights festival . This festival was incredible, using light installations projected onto the Opera House, the bridge and the Contemporary Art Museum, it was colourful, creative and very clever. We finished off with a snack and a drink at one of the bars at the bottom of the Opera House. A lovely night out.

When I first arrived I stayed with some very patient friends in Surry Hills for several weeks while I got myself organised. Another inner-city suburb jam packed with cafes, bars and restaurants, I had several very happy weeks there exploring Surry Hills and the surrounding suburbs of Paddington and Redfern. It was nice and close to the city, with a very relaxing walk through Hyde Park to work. Hyde Park, on the outskirts of the city, is a lovely green oasis. I discovered however that it also had some interesting wildlife. I stumbled across some very brazen possums most nights on the walk home. However it wasn't unusual to come across some very large plump rats as well!

Paddington is home to the famous Paddington Markets, 200 stalls of local fashion, design, jewellery, art, food......It's on every Saturday morning and is well worth the visit. I managed to resist nearly all temptations, however did fall victim to some outrageously good dark chocolate. I had many good intentions to bring home to my generous hosts but I'm a little embarassed to say that I gobbled the lot myself.

More recently I have discovered another Saturday market, the Eveleigh Farmers Market, a farmers market in Darlington and a few minutes walk from the Redfern train station. What a treat this was! Jam packed with delicious food from local producers, I spent a very happy couple of hours there, and came home laden with cheese, steak, chicken, fresh vegetables, flowers, chocolate raspberry brownie, home made bircher muesli.... While there I had breakfast on the go and an excellent coffee. It was only because I had run out of bag space, not to mention money, that I didn't come back with more!

So in a few short months life has changed radically, but I'm excited about having so many new sights to see and places to discover. I'm looking forward to the warmer weather kicking in, but all up I can say that I am loving life in Sydney thus far!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Angel PlaceAngel Place
Angel Place

Love this little laneway off Pitt St
PaddingtonPaddington
Paddington

On my way to yoga...
Pitt St MallPitt St Mall
Pitt St Mall

Saturday afternoon and the buskers are making a killing!


21st July 2012

Lovely to spend time with you this week in your new City and my old City, keep exploring there's so much to see xx
21st July 2012

Sydney
Lovely to find myself on your blog list again. So glad the move to Sydney is proving such a success. You write a great account and the photos are gorgeous. I'm off to Germany with Liz in August for the wedding of a great great niece and to see Mo and Katrin and Jonah, and then on to visit Jane in England of course - back mid September. All good wishes Yvonne
21st July 2012

Homesick
Makes me feel like packing the bags and heading home to Sydney. Oops. Must pack, off to Copenhagen tomorrow.
21st July 2012

I hadn't realized you had moved to Sydney...
your descriptions of your new home sound like you have gone to heaven, it's so wonderful. We hope the weather gets a bit warmer too as we will be passing through Sydney in mid-October on the way to your old homeland of New Zealand. Have you connected with fellow Travelbloggers yet such as Dancing Dave?
22nd July 2012

Sydney
Hi Bob and Linda - the weather will definitely be warmer by then I am sure of it! I haven't connected with any other bloggers in Sydney so far, however when you are here maybe we should arrange something?
21st July 2012

Thanks for the update Rachy! Glad to hear that you're exploring and enjoying yourself. I'll give you a Skype call over the next couple of weeks and hopefully I'll pass through Sydney at the end of the year. Keep the updates coming :-)
22nd July 2012

Yes please!
Looking forward to catching up before you head to Brazzaville...and definitely keen for a Skype catch up soon!
22nd July 2012

Hi Rachael,
We did not realize you had moved to Sydney. How exciting! It is a beautiful city. Looks like your apartment has an amazing view. Love the market photos. Is this a permanent move? I'm sure you will be blogging with many new stories.
22nd July 2012

Hi Dave & Merry Jo - yep, the move to Sydney came up quite suddenly - was an opportunity too good to pass up. I haven't travelled much in Australia beyond the cities, so I do hope that I have some more blogs coming up. I have a few weekend trips planned this year and hopefully next year will get a chance to see more. I'm not sure if it's permanent, but definitely for a couple of years or so. Very exciting that's for sure! Can't wait to start reading about your next trip....I'm sure you are counting down the days now!
22nd July 2012

HOME SWEET HOME
Saw that magic word "Sydney"...had to look. So you live in Potts Point...or is it Darlo? Harbour views...magnificent...bush views that we have...magnificent. We should get together if you have the time. If so, we would proffer an invitation.
22nd July 2012

Potts Point
Hi Dave - yes it's Potts Point, and so far I'm loving it! Yes, I am always keen to meet up with other travel bloggers, and your travels look very interesting, so would love to meet up!
22nd July 2012

I see that you are now Followers of Dancing Dave and ourselves...
Dave had already suggested that we meet while we are in Sydney, so the two of you can plan something. We arrive by ship on Sunday morning, 14 October and depart Tuesday evening, 16 October.
1st August 2012

Hi Rachael, Sorry for the late comment, and great to hear the move worked out well. Nice street photos - I love the panorama shot! My sister is in Sydney so I'll be over there again at some point, would be great to catch up again :-)
1st August 2012

Hi Jo - I have been meaning to get in touch. I met up with David and Denise in the weekend (aka Dancing Dave!) - we had a lovely afternoon. So definitely get in touch and we can get together!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.052s; cc: 19; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb