So then I went to Sydney.....and stayed...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Potts Point
November 5th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I know I only just posted a blog from my times in Asia. But seeing as I haven't got work today, I decided it would be about time to tell you what i've been up to for the month that I've been in Sydney. Yeah, month. I can't quite believe I've already been here that long...and haven't got too much to show for it. Or is that true. I guess not. I mean, I came back to OZ with pretty much no reserve funds, having stretched my budget to spend a few extra weeks in Asia. And managing to survive here a whole month is a sign that I have managed to get something done.

So, I arrived here, and came straight to ChiliBlue hostel. Its pretty much the cheapest in Sydney, and includes breakky, and internet, and (mostly) smiling staff! And the location couldn't really be much better, with Kings cross being a happening (yet slightly seedy) area, and very close to a train station. I then went in to hyper active mode and sorted out bank accounts, tax numbers and registering with temp agencies. Some of whom took one look at me and decided I was a waste of space, whilst others seemed pretty keen to get me on the books. Well, a few days later and I had my first assignment, which meant that instead of having to bail out and head back to the UK, I could stretch my stay that little bit longer!

I worked a few days as a 'admin/receptionist' at a pretty quiet office, which was ok, if a little dull. I need things to keep me occupied you see, once I actually make the effort to go to work, I would rather be given things to do there...instead of wait for the phone to ring. As my ex-co-workers will testify, I might need chivvvying along at times, but I'm happier doing little tasks than nowt otherwise my mind wonders and i go a little crazy. So I spent hours surfing the net...wondering who to email next. Work like this continued for a couple of weeks, with me only getting a few days work each week, which covered my living expences but not much else. But at least it did that!

After a week or so, i decided the next thing i needed was friends. I hadn't been the most sociable of characters since arriving in OZ, as I had no money to spend on drink, and no way of heading anywhere, I just kept to myself a bit and plodded along. Well, firstly I needed to find some peeps to rave with, so went to a psytrance night on my own...and met some pretty ace guys to hang out with, who then told me they would bring me along to some 'bush doofs', so named because the music all just sounds like 'doof doof doof' but I love it! I have been to a couple of events now, one of which had absolutely amazing music the whole time, and was really sunny in the daytime. AND the other, in the blue mountains, rained, hailed, snowed, and was freezing cold and ridiculously windy, and reminded me very much of England...in a baaaad way. But I still had fun :-)
I also became friends with an Estonian called Liina who is slightly mental, we have a very similar sense of dark humour and she keeps me entertained at the hostel. She has the job I want, working for a home energy audit company helping people become more 'green'. So I'm
Me and Liina Me and Liina Me and Liina

Bezzie mates lol
a bit jealous, but never mind.

I have also worked as a 'filing clerk' for a dental practice. IT wasnt exactly fun, but it kept me busy the whole day, and the people I worked with were really nice, I actually liked it more than the reception job even though what I had to do was file all day. Popularly belived to be my most hated job in the library (shelving) I found it kind of ironic that I spent the whole day effectively doing just that, and almost enjoying it.

It is now about another month since I first started writing this blog. I can't believe I have been here for nearly 3 months already! I now have a job, which is definitely good as it means i can stay here for a bit longer. I'm working for an insurance company, checking claims. It honestly isn't the most thrilling of jobs, and not really how I planned to start my working 'career', but as I said I get money for it. I spent 7 and 1/2 hours of my weekdays trying to prevent myself from falling asleep. But the people there are pretty cool and I have things to keep me occupied during the other times. Mostly going to parties in the bush.
Also, something exciting I did do was go to 'Breakfast on the Bridge'. An event that was part of the international food festival, they closed the harbour bridge for a few hours and had a breakfast picnic on there. 7000 lucky people got to attend bringing their own tasty things to munch on, but we did get some cool freebies and it was ace. They laid real grass down on the bridge and brought a few cows for the city dwellers to see. There are a few pics attached to this if you're interested. I was really lucky that some of my friends got tickets and invited me along. The bridge has only been closed a handful of times in the past so this was quite a special event! IT was fun.

I have had to give this particular blog up....its out of date and i cant remember what i've written. so bugger it i'm gonna start afresh with recent events!

Catch you laters.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



25th November 2009

good to hear about it chuff, stay smiling and stay positive, sounds like a great experience you will always remember doing and learn lots from. must meet up when you are home please, whenever that will be! xxxxx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb