Snap Happy!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
February 24th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I emerged from bed at 8am and once dressed...grabbed my street map and embarked on my first Sydney reconnaissance mission which as it turned out, ended up being an epic expedition. Having found St Marys Cathedral pretty easily (my landmark marker), I then wandered slowly through Hyde Park taking in all the fauna and sights and was astounded as to how many joggists were tearing about, especially taking into account how warm it was...86F!!! Mad??? Stark Raving Bonkers if you asked me!!! The Botanical Gardens were really nice too, but, as ever I found something to be worried about...this time, the hundreds of bats dangling upside down in the trees above (Yes, A Return to James's Nightmare!!). Fascinating as they are, I was a little concerned about being crapped on from great heights as I sauntered along the path beneath them...sauntering was not really a good idea was it!! The Opera House is an amazing building, I got a tad snap happy and rattled off dozens of piccies to bore everyone at home with...I was just in awe at actually being somewhere that I had never ever expected to be in my whole life!! The bridge is stunning too and I got a few pics of that too...in fact, I must have photographed everything today from road signs to digeridoo's...a very successful day!!! This evening, I had lunch at The Gaff...Fish n Chips mmmm yummy!!! On arrival back at the hostel, I discovered that I now have been blessed with two new roomies... two Japanese Guys who don't speak English....lucky lucky me!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb