Settling down in Sydney...........


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Manly
February 5th 2006
Published: February 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is one of the reasons we will miss Ele.......This is one of the reasons we will miss Ele.......This is one of the reasons we will miss Ele.......

Those crazy photo opportunities!!!!!! We are at Ocean World in Manly
Well I thought it was about time I sent you a little update about the stuff we've been up to in Sydney since we've arrived back. I'm afraid there aren't many photo's because I've been a bit useless and not taken my camera out at important times! We raced back to Sydney in time for Australia day on the 26th of Jan - all the local's got really dressed up and had transfer flags on their arms and cheeks etc, there was a really good atmosphere! We spent most of the day in Darling Harbour (poor Tom had to work in the evening), watching all the street performers and generally enjoying the atmosphere. In the morning we also saw the commonwealth torch pass through Manly which was quite exciting.

Have spent much of my time looking for a place to live/ a job and have not had much luck on the job front but am planning to stay around here for the next few months - waitress or telesales? Cast your votes!

Well I've had my first birthday abroad now, thanks to those who sent cards and pressies😊 To celebrate we went out into the city centre and visited
The grey nurse sharkThe grey nurse sharkThe grey nurse shark

safely inside the aquaium at Ocean World
a place called soups plus which is a jazz venue. Ele and Tom got me that all Australian of things a body board for my birthday(as well as some make up)! I have now tried it out and am very pleased with it! We also have been to see a rugby game whilst here - the NSW Warratahs versus the Crusaders which I think are a new zealand team. It was really fun going to a stadium to see a sporting match, much more exciting than watching it on television, I recommend it!

Have also been snorkelling at shelly beach, manly - although there weren't many exotic fish its quite exciting to have snorkelling opportunities on your doorstep. As well as body boarding, swimming, surfing, great seafood............I could go on but i don't like to boast 😉 By the way have also had my first proper jellyfish sting by a blue bottle jelly fish also known as a portuguese Man O' War! Was only a small one and the effects only last for about half an hour so nothing to worry about but I was suprised to learn when we went to ocean world what kind of jelly fish
An eagle spotted manta ray (I think)An eagle spotted manta ray (I think)An eagle spotted manta ray (I think)

also safely inside the aquaium at Ocean World
it was! Oh yes also went to Ocean world which was fun (see pictures).

Went to visit Palm Beach which is about an hours journey away from where I'm living and is the home of the australian soap "Home and Away". Did not do the tour for this one but did climb up to see the light house using the smugglers track. It is a nice beach and I think the photo's speak for themselves about the picturesque views from the lighthouse. Bizarrely it is not over developed as there were no shops by the ocean beach, only a man selling fruit smoothies from a van! Some shops were being built when we were there but it was quite quiet being a weekday and the children are now back at school. It is a very rich area where lots of people who live in central sydney have their holiday homes.

Sadly Ele has now left us and is on her way back to the UK. She will be greatly missed but looking forward to seeing her and the rest of you in a few months time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb