Manly Beach-Bondi Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Manly
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After three intense days of sightseeing, I choose to check out the local beaches a bit for some R & R. I am actually staying in lovely Manly Beach with Rob and Lindy, my wonderful hosts, who are spoiling me wrotten and who are truly the hosts with the mosts. After taking the ferry from Sydney over to Manly yesterday, Lindy picked my up from the Ferry Wahrf and we went to their house up on the hill, overlooking the bay. Can you say amazing!!! After a bit of chit chat and throwing a load of laundry in the wash, I went down to the beach, laid out, took a swim in the Pacific, and generally blended in quite well with the other tourists and surfers. In the afternoon, Lindy and Rob took me around Manly and we checked out all the different coves and cliffs and views of the Harbor. (why everyone here still has a vacation home somewhere else, is a mystery to me:-), it really does not get much better than this).
When i woke up this morning, much needed rain was coming down in a quite a steady drizzle, but it did not stop me from taking the Ferry back to Circular Quay in Sydney to catch the bus to Bondi Beach, home of the Olympic Beach Volleyball Venue. Since the sun never really appeared all day, i chose to go for a long walk on the Coastal Walk along the cliffs that connects Bondi to several other beaches a bit further South. The views were amazing! Since that was not enough walking for the day :-) , I decided to take the bus back to the Quay (after a stop in Bondi Junction) to walk up to the Rocks and then across the Sydney Harbor Bridge! Was it ever worth it! Eventually I caught another bus back to Manly (starting to feel like a local with all this public transportation amongst all the commuters), had a fantastic dinner and am now ready to pack up again to head to the airport for the flight to Auckland tomorrow. It will be tough to leave this beautiful home, but I will return to Manly before my departure in April and luckily will not have to really say good bye to my wonderfule hosts. (Gudi, in case you are reading this... VIELEN DANK!)
Until next time from NZ

SL

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb