Getting closer to Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Lane Cove
February 22nd 2009
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Ryde just outside Sydney as we pick up Claire and JP the day after tomorrow and plan to head into the blue mountains with them for a little while. We haven't yet ventured into the city as we plan to book an apartment for a few days when the camper van goes back and will explore the city then.

Having arrived at Lane Cove river tourist park we had a walk around the national park - we're turning into twitchers I think and are really enjoying the wildlife over here. Not really like the other walks we've done in national parks as the area seems to attract a lot of people from the city who come to do some heavy petting (Get a room!!) and / or have a BBQ whilst listening to really loud music blaring out from their car radios....

After a late dinner I was forced to take refuge in the van due to some beady eyes watching me and a little visitor creeping up to the van...It was difficult to work out what it was (as we haven't seen one before) but it was either a bandicoot or a possum - something along those lines. I soon realised there were a few of them and they got up really close and personal so while Pete sat outside I decided I'd just poke my head out whilst reclining in the van (for those of you who have been camping with me I often adopt this position in my sleeping bag).

The following day we decided to explore some more beaches and headed to Avalon and Manley. Avalon, I'm told is where they film some of Home and Away. It was a stunning beach but it's been so long since I watched Home and Away that its hard to tell if it's familiar. Manley was also really nice but very busy and we couldn't park the camper in the centre as we couldnt find any spaces big enough.

Looking forward to heading up to the blue mountains now and having someone else to navigate and co-pilot for a while. My sense of direction, whilst improved, hasn't really assisted my ability to get us lost or alternatively my simply going quiet when Pete asks which way and I just go quiet at a junction!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb