Moving to a hostel


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
February 11th 2015
Published: February 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I decided to go for a walk along the coast from Bondi. I was hoping to do the walk to Coogee but after walking for two hours I was so hot I couldn't wait any longer to jump in the sea so I stopped at a random beach. It was such a pretty walk I might do it again but maybe if I start at Coogee and walk back to Bondi I'll get to do the whole walk rather than walking from Karen's down to Bondi and then along the walk in the boiling heat! I ended up walking about 12km so by the time I got back I was shattered!

Today I checked into a hostel so that I can see a different part of Sydney and get to meet some new people. When I got to my room it was tiny and only three other beds in there so none of my roommates were actually in there. I went for a walk to see what I could find and came across an art gallery which I went in, and then ended up in the botanical gardens again. I walked through to circular quay and over to the other side of the harbour which is called The Rocks. I had a look around the area, went in some shops, went in a little museum about the history of The Rocks which is where a lot of immigrants came- I love just walking round aimlessly exploring places. Once I'd felt like I'd seen everything I walked back to the hostel, stopping in the Guylian cafe on the way past for a milkshake which was so good!

When I got back one of my roommates was there and she told me about a pub quiz that some people were going to tonight. She introduced me to some guy who was organising it because she wasn't going herself. We went to an Irish pub just down the road to do the quiz which was a lot of fun but I didn't know any of the answers as usual because my general knowledge is awful- I just went for the cheap drinks and company. We left once it had finish and went back to the hostel to meet up with other people and pre-drink to go out. However when we got there, Warren the guy organising everything, found out we actually won the quiz because Emma had named the song I Kissed a Girl correctly and for a bonus 10 points actually kissed a girl! So we went back to the pub to claim our prize which was bar tab big enough to get us all a jug of beer/cider each plus a bottle of wine, free t shirts, hats and some other things. By the time we got back to the hostel I'd had so much cider I was falling asleep so I had to go to bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb