Seventh Wonder of the Modern World


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Hyde Park
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I never knew that the Sydney Opera House was considered one of the "Seven Wonders of the Modern World" but after spending so much time viewing it from a vast array of vantage points, I have to concede that it is spectacular.

Cloudy days, sunny days, sunrise or dusk...it really is quite magical. A contraversial design in its origins (1957), it took years to finally complete (1973) and is probably, aside from koala and kangaroos, the one iconic symbol of Australia.

Some say that it represents the sails of a ship, some say each section is like the segment of an orange. Others liken it to aboriginal tales of a turtle, mathematicians marvel at its near perfect geometrical proportions (the "sails" all fit together in a circle). Either way you look at it, it's a magnificent design.

The strangest thing about the building is that is actually not ONE structure...it is a group of buildings all clustered together that give it the final impression of unity. Each "segment" is used for different venues, the largest being the Opera House itself, while the other buildings are used for theatre, dance and music.

When I was walking down the street headed towards the harbour, I let out an inaudible gasp when I caught sight of one of the "sails" from the distance. Chance encounters with kangaroos and koalas had already occurred...now I knew I was in Australia!

Today's page is dedicated to this magnificent structure...I'll stop griping about those pesky tourists and let the pictures speak for themselves!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



11th February 2011

Seventh Wonder of the Modern World
I never knew much about the Sydney Opera House, let alone it being one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Looking at the pics and reading your excellent description and story I am quite enchanted. Yes the pictures just about speak for themselves, WOW I am thrilled to see these, thanks !! They truly are amazing, the history is something I was unaware of. Thanks for sharing this with us. Flawless indeed..........keep up the stories and great pics JUDExo

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb