DIY Day - Sydney Style


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Junction
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We all got up, called Stephen to say night night, we again had a nap we finally piled into the car to go to search for a new table for the yard. As the weather was nice we went to the local version of B&Q called Bennetts and I soon realised that Australia is the home of DIY, it was extremely busy with people buying plants for their "Spring" gardens (weird).

As we left I was introduced to an Oz style sausage sizzle for lunch which consisted of a hot dog picnic on the grass verge next to the car. With our newly purchased table on the roof rack and the sun sails in the boot we set off for home.

With the kids packed off for their nap my sister went into Mum cleaning frenzy mode whilst I became the labourer helping to assemble the new table. After this I assisted with the installaion of the new sun sails which people over here use to shade their yard.

With the temperature reaching 37 degrees, I was asked if I wanted a "two stroke"."four stroke" or wine so I opted for the first choice and was presented with a larger so we sat at the new table under the sun sails and concluded that it was work well done.

Later as everyone was revived we went down to Bronte Beach for a fish and chip supper Oz style. This consisted of sitting on the grass overlooking the beach with a pager which beeped when your meal was ready. We all had baramundi and chips on one of Mum and Dad's or possibly Grans old tartan rugs it seemed to me to be a very English thing to do.

Returning home we phoned Stephen to say wakey wakey whilst the kids had a bath and headed for bed. As it was 21:00, I could not keep my eyes open so headed the same way with thoughts of what a wonderful natural day we all had.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb