Mixed Days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Stephens
December 23rd 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Giant Wasp!Giant Wasp!Giant Wasp!

Not sure what this inset is but it was huge!
DAY 46

Generally today we had a fairly easy day.

It is a real pleasure to be in a house, on the one hand it seems no time at all since we were in our rented apartment in Alexandra Headland but on the other hand it seems such a long time ago, I think because we have stayed in so many different places since leaving England, Singapore, Brisbane, Alexandra Headland, Fraser Island, Mooloolaba, Maroochy, Caloundra, Fassifern, Glen Innes, Apsley Falls, Lemon Tree Passage (Port Stephens) and currently Medowie (Port Stephens), not to mention the towns that we have travelled through en route and the many coffee’s that we have drunk in Starbucks all for the purpose of getting onto Tomizone internet to keep in touch with you all.

I have found that during the day I really feel like drinking coffee I think that I have become addicted to coffee again, I almost feel disappointed when I don’t get one.

I think I feel a bit shell shocked at the moment, I am not sure what to do with myself i.e. we are in a fairly large house with a beautiful dog to look after and I feel as if I cannot sit still. I had so many plans to sit and read a book, which I have not done as yet. Still the cupboard is full of DVD’s so I do plan to choose one and watch it later. Aussie TV is really poor. The house that we are in does have Foxtel, which is Sky equivalent, but the programmes available are really poor. We did manage to catch one last episode of Ice Truckers on Discovery the other night that is from the recent series that was on in England before we left, we never saw those in England as I cancelled the Sky subscription too early.

This week feels hard, I want to keep myself busy but I also want to use the time to relax as before long we will be back on the road travelling. Keeping myself busy so that I do not dwell on family and friends back in England. It has been hard knowing that the girls were out partying earlier in December and I was not able to be with them. Christmas Day will be quite hard and Santa is not going to find us here as we
NalaNalaNala

Just one of many sleeping postitions that Nala poses.
have given him the run around recently, oh well another Christmas Day and still no sign of a Porsche being delivered, maybe next year?

We were watching a programme about aboriginal delicacies, they seem to favour Kangaroo tails, yuck, I think they are better left on the Kangaroo. We will not be having Kangaroo for Christmas dinner, despite telling most of you that we had a frozen kangaroo in the freezer.

The days seem to go very quickly here, I am not sure why.

One big news item today; A local fish store will remain open for a total of 36 hours non stop leading to Christmas eve and is expected to sell 39 tons of prawns for Christmas day, well, that is one place that Andy and I will not be visiting to get supplies for our Christmas dinner.

One big job that needed doing was washing the truck cleaning out the interior and vacuuming it out. Andy got down to work and I sat and watched, well I did have Nala on her lead outside, after all someone had to look after the dog!

Andy made a very good job of it.

While we were sitting indoors a giant wasp like thing flew in. I have never seen anything like it, I think it was larger than a hornet. I am pretty sure that it would give you one hell of a sting.

Before dinner we took Nala for an early evening walk around the neighbourhood. It was a lovely evening despite being overcast was still very warm. It was great looking at the other houses, there are so many different styles and sizes, not to mention some of the land that the houses are built on are quite large. There are a number of plots up for sale. You can buy the land and then decide what house you are going to build on it.

During the walk Nala was spooked by some dogs that started to bark at her, there were about 6 of them standing at the fence, so we made haste to move on and away from them.

That evening we settled down to watch the Bourne Supremacy on DVD; we had seen it before, but as it is such a good film always good to watch again. However sometime before 10 and the finish of the film I fell asleep - really unusual for me and I woke up just as the credits rolled, never mind I will watch the film again.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb