Day 5


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Macquarie
January 21st 2013
Published: January 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello World,

I can't believe it's been 2 days since I last posted. I've done so much in just 48 hours.

I'll start with yesterday, I got to try an authentic Aussie pie! Tom's grandparents were nice enough to take us on a little tour of Port Macquarie showing us the beaches of the town before taking us to "The Addicting Pie." I had a steak pie, it was very delicious. The only way to describe it is great pastry filled with gravy and steak bits. The rest of the day was very relaxing although it was rainy.

This morning I woke up early and Tom's parents took a few of us to see a local strawberry/ tomato farm where you can pick your own strawberries. Sadly, there were very few berries left but they had lots of jams! After lunch we went to the Billabong Wildlife Park. The place is amazing, they have emus, dingos, wombats, wallabys, kangaroos and koalas amongst other animals. This zoo is quite special because you are able to go into the kangaroo enclosure and feed the 'roos.' I found it fascinating being so up close and personal with the kangaroos, they are quite lovable. I also had the oppurtunity to pet a koala, although they are ususally quite fierce, this guy was used to humans enough to get some photos and a back scratch. One of the most intriguing animals at the park is the inland taipan, the world's most venomous snake.

Apart from just sightseeing, I have gotten to know my host family much better. They all have such great senses of humor and are making me feel very welcome. I couldn't ask for more in my stay.

That's all for now,

Jake.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb