Wii are feeling fit


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
December 6th 2009
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Little Lady, Big MachineLittle Lady, Big MachineLittle Lady, Big Machine

Helen Sheriden, was out at 5.30 laoding bales of straw. What a big machine for such a small person.
DAY 394



Waking up in a proper bed again, the sun is just at the right point to shine directly in my eyes through the blind, I have no idea what time it is, I cannot be bothered to look at my watch. We all had a late night last night, although I have no doubt that Helen and Robert will have been up early and back out on the farm doing what needs to be done.

Eventually I struggle out of bed, walking back down the hallway I hear Susan shout “morning!” from her room, she is sat on the bed with her laptop, tapping away. Amy is still sound asleep.

The kettle is on and we all have a cup of tea, Amy joins us soon after, then Susan gets a decent breakfast of bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and toast on the go, what a treat! There is plenty to go round and Helen’s is saved in the oven, she will not have had breakfast before going out earlier so will be in much need of this when she gets back in.

Susan and I set about stacking the dishwasher and what does not go in the dishwasher I was up, Susan dries and everything is nice and tidy again after the night before.

Helen has been out stacking bales of hay with the Front End Loader, in fact it is not long before she drives past and appears for breakfast.

It’s a funny day really, well I guess it is Sunday so we can afford some time to do what would usually be done on a Sunday and that is sit around chatting, but eventually Amy has to head off.

Andy makes himself busy with a few things Helen has to do, such as fixing one of the chairs that has broken. Andy also looked at the new cistern for the toilet, the existing one is broken, but he finds that he will need a couple of flexi hoses to finish the cistern job.

Susan, Andy and I head off for a walk down the lane to Merriville where Jason lives, we want to see how Candy and her puppies are getting along, it is a warm day but not so hot to be uncomfortable.

When we arrive we find Jason barbecuing for lunch he has people
Andy & SusanAndy & SusanAndy & Susan

Walking down the lane to Merryville
with him, Old Peter who was 78 and the caretaker of the Wagga Wagga Sportsground, another Peter who also lives in Wagga and of course Kristy. We descend full of apologies for crashing their lunch, but Jason does not mind, we all sit around with a drink and chat for a while.

Candy comes out for a wander around, she seems to be very hungry, but then I am not surprised with 9 puppies to feed. Susan explains that Candy seems to have split them into 2 groups for feeding (sensible dog). The puppies are all looking well, their eyes are opening but still appear to be a little foggy, I hold one of them and Candy is not at all worried.

We see DJ, Kristy’s 3 month old Kelpie, we think he will be a big dog, he has dinner plate paws and huge ears that flop over each other on the top of his head, Kristy hopes “that DJ grows into his ears!”

We head back to Woodstock but we see Helen driving down the lane, she stops to tell us she is off to do a small job and suddenly Andy disappears into the
A few more PupsA few more PupsA few more Pups

Candy now leaves her pups
passenger seat! Any excuse to not walk back, but never mind, Susan and I enjoy the rest of the walk back up to Woodstock.

After a light and healthy lunch Susan gets the Nintendo Wii on the go, she has a game of tennis and then Andy and I join in, eventually I move onto the Wii fit, Helen had told me about this last time and suggested we get it set up. Anyway, I soon pick a Wii Mii and away I go.

You may remember that I bought a Nintendo Dsi to do some Brain Training while on this trip well it calculates your age, which the first time you do it the age is a bit of a shock, well the Wii Fit does the same, so when it calculated my age it said 55, “What!” This is really not good for a person who has spent hundreds over several years of gym membership and especially for the hiking and other general exercise that we have been getting on this trip.

Anyway after half hour of exercise, mainly balance and bit of aerobic exercise I managed to bring my age down to 36, so I am pleased with that, half hour of work and I am back in the game! All I need to do now is lose a few more pounds, get my muscles working properly and just get into good shape. Can I promise to do some every day? Well we will see.

Later in the afternoon Susan left to head back to Canberra where she is living and working, timed perfectly as she wants to miss that dusk period where the kangaroo’s are active and have a tendency to cross the roads.

I had a brief Skype chat with Ken Truman, he tells me that Josh (one quarter of the Travelin Trueys) is travelling again, he has headed off to New Zealand for 17 days on a tennis tournament, good luck to Josh with that, he is apparently having a good time already and should be home again just in time for Christmas.

Andy was on mashed potato duty for tea, he claims to make the best so Helen had to give him that chance, another excellent mashed potato served with lamb cutlets and vegetables.

Washed down with a gin and tonic, watched a little bit of TV and then retired, I read for a while as I was keen to catch up on my book, but tiredness took over and I soon went to sleep.

Goodnight bloggers!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DJDJ
DJ

Kristy, is hoping DJ will grow in to his ears.


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb