Snow west of Sydney??


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Katoomba
June 24th 2016
Published: June 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Some people have the perception that Australia is always sunny and warm. Well, this isn't true! We do have winter here too, although usually milder than places like Europe and North America.

Today it was supposed to snow in the Blue Mountains! I had a day off work so I got in my car in search of snow.

I left Sydney and headed towards Richmond and then over the Bells Line of Road (don't ask me why it's called this...). I stopped off at Mt Banks lookout, and it was cold but no snow.

I continued along the road and just as I arrived in Clarence, it started to snow!! Yay!

I followed the road down to Lithgow, but it started to disappear, so once I got to lithgow I turned around and headed for Blackheath.

When I arrived in Blackheath there was nothing, but then it all started! It just kept falling out of the sky, and then the wind picked it up and drove it into you! I took some shelter in the supermarket to try to get myself organised, and then off I went wandering down the main street. It really did snow!

I then headed to Katoomba (see the attached time-lapse video) and went to Echo Point to see if the Three Sisters were covered in snow (which they weren't - how disappointing!) Even though there was no snow on the ground, it was falling from the sky and being driven by the wind. It was difficult to take good photos as it was windy and getting dark and I was shivering in the 1 Degree weather!

Anyway, I hope you like the photos. This happens a couple of times a year at most.

I can't get a video uploaded, but here is a link to my youtube video where you can see the snow falling.





Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb