Day 18 - Maitland to Central Coast


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Central Coast
February 13th 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The rain has settled in, but in a sporadic way. Heavy showers are interspersed with dry spells where the heat of the day converts the wet-weather gear into a mini-sauna. Consequently I'm wet both inside and outside.
My first stop for the day was at the Peacock Hill Winery. It was a good excuse to get out of the rain for a while, but I decided to taste a few wines (very small tastes only) and soon discovered that they produce a very enjoyable fortified wine. I took a chance and purchased a bottle which was very carefully packed in the top-box for the journey to the Central Coast.
After stopping for lunch at the Hunter Valley Winery Information Centre, I headed towards Newcastle so I could take the 'scenic' route down the Pacific Highway and Central Coast Highway. There is no doubt that this would have been a good idea in fine weather, but with the rain and low clouds the trip was reduced to simply surviving to the end.
Eventually I reached the Central Coast where I'll stay with a good friend for a couple of nights.

Distance Travelled Today - 211km

Advertisement



16th February 2009

14 Feb ??
Hi Greg, so on the 14 feb you were due to have a dinner date? So can you now tell me who it was?
17th February 2009

"Staying with good friends"
AND??? Small technicality regarding the convict-built culvert. Did they build the culvert (which would be hard to do, seeing as it's made of air which is nobody's fault, not even the convicts') or did they build the wall around the culvert?
19th February 2009

Culvert?
Without any insinuation of casting doubt on your technical knowledge, I'll have to do some research and get back to you on this one.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb