Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
July 16th 2015
Published: April 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So Alcohol doesn't get you through the night bus. Instead of getting on and drifting off to sleep, I got on slept a bit woke up and gradually got more sober and tired with intervals of sleep. By the time we arrived in Byron I felt awful. The cold that had been just on the verge of being a problem all down the east coast decided it was now a problem. I had a sore throat, could barely talk and couldn't get warm. Of course hostels being hostels, don't let you check in until 2pm. I put my bag in storage and headed into town, aiming to find food for the next few days, something to hopefully boost the immune system and make me feel better.

I got back at 2 and got my bag into my room. It was on a small island, in the arts factory. A little structure like a gypsy's caravan, but more modern and stationary. Above the door was only mosquito netting and at the back was a small deck. The room was unfortunately cold. I sorted out my lunch, dinner and food for the next day's travel. But could not bring myself to do more than sleep. So I sort out a blanket (hostels in warm climates just give you a sheet), at the reception they told me that it was abnormally cold for this time of year.

The following morning (yes i slept through dinner and everything), I cleared up, showered and put my bag back into storage, before heading along the beach to do the lighthouse walk. At this point every part of me ached, but I continued. The Views were breathtaking, I was on the lookout for whales, but unfortunately didn't see any. Once I reached the lighthouse I stood and looked out, before getting an ice cream, despite the chill of the day. Once rested I set off back down and headed into town.

I met up with Charlie and Kev, we went for a meal together and had a look around the shops, before grabbing a cup of tea together. It was good to meet up again, we met on the first tour I did going from Darwin to Alice springs. It felt like it had been ages since we last saw each other, but it hadn't it was only been 3 or 4 weeks. I had just seen and done so much in that time.

They had to go work in the afternoon/evening and I had another overnight bus to catch to Sydney. So Kev dropped me at the hostel, along the way getting stopped for a quick breathalyzer test, they do just stop people randomly for it over in Aus! I got my bag and headed back to the bus station. Next stop Sydney!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb