Surfers Paradise and Byron Bay!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Surfer's pub crawlSurfer's pub crawlSurfer's pub crawl

Erin and I and some random young boys!!
It's already time for another update as I have time to kill and a pc with photo and internet faciltiies for $2 an hour (about 80p). Erin left for Sydney last night, leaving me with her stinking cold, she flies to New Zealand on my Birthday! It was strange this morning as it's my first morning where I wasn't travelling with anyone I know! I moved rooms for this last night at Byron Bay as its a 9 bed dorm and everyone checked out in preparation for 8 18 year old boys to move in - and me! I moved in with a few other backpackers and they were talking about going out tomorrow but it depends whether or not I decide to go on the 5am bus tomorrow to see the sunrise in the most most Easternly point of Australia - I probably will and then get the Greyhound bus to Coffs Harbour.

Going back, we spent 4 days in Surfer's Paradise last week, so called because they have massive waves for surfing there. It is an unusual place, reminded me of the Blackpool of Australia. Lots of high rise buildings then there is the beach, waves and
Life of luxury!Life of luxury!Life of luxury!

Ladies cocktail night at "The Bedroom" nightclub
lots of touts getting people to go on pub crawls. Erin and I were persuaded and got a ticket for $40 (about 18 pounds I think) which got us 2 hours of free drinks on the Tuesday, a pub crawl on the Wednesday with a drink per bar, 2 hours of free drinks on the Thursday (Daiquiris and champagne served by topless muscle men as it was ladies night) then free entry on the Friday. I think we got our money worth and we got fed up of nights out in the end, it's probably where I got my cold from from too much partying. The main club in Surfer's Paradise is "The Bedroom" which has about a dozen queensized beds scattered around the place, apparently it's a copy of the one in Sex and The City?

Surfer's Paradise revolved around tourism and partying so it was a total change to get the bus to Byron Bay which is a laid back hippy town with bongo and guitar players sitting on the beach, incense sticks and a load of tie dye and waistcoats. On our second day Erin went to surf lessons and I went sea kayaking. Unfortunately I
Bowling barBowling barBowling bar

Dad would be proud of me!!
went alone and couldn't take a camera on the kayak so have no evidence of me doing this but I did - I still have the achy shoulders to prove it! We went boy / girl in kayaks and did a 6km round trip out into the sea. The aching arms were worth it as we saw a humpback whale around 20 metres away from us and a group of dolphins around 10 metres from us. There was around 6 of them playing. jumping and diving in and out of the water. It was amazing! On the way back in only 2 of the 20 kayaks capsized getting out of the waves - mine being one of those, typical! Luckily it was shallow waters! That night we went to Cheeky Monkeys, a bar famous for the lack of dancefloor, you can only dance on the tables!

Yesterday we walked to the Cape Byron lighthouse which is the most easterly point of mainland Australia. The views were amazing and I got some shots of kayakers going the same route as I did.

I'm ready to move on to my next destination now, Coff's Harbour for 1 day, then Port
Surfer's ParadiseSurfer's ParadiseSurfer's Paradise

Tourist shot under the famous Surfers Paradise arch.
Macquirie then Newcastle then Sydney! I may catch Erin before she goes!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Huuuuge waves!Huuuuge waves!
Huuuuge waves!

The reason they call it Surfers Paradise!!
Sand SculptureSand Sculpture
Sand Sculpture

Amazing dragon sand sculpture in Byron Bay
Exactly what it says on the label!!Exactly what it says on the label!!
Exactly what it says on the label!!

The most easterly point of mainland Australia
KayakersKayakers
Kayakers

This is where I went sea kayaking the day before
Enjoying my daquiri!Enjoying my daquiri!
Enjoying my daquiri!

"The Bedroom", Surfers Paradise
Picture Perfect!Picture Perfect!
Picture Perfect!

A postcard picture if ever I've seen one!


19th July 2007

everydays a birtday
catherine seems that every days a birthday on your amazing trip of a lifetime thanks for sharingall your exitement with us. sent your card and a birthday hat to your box number , it cost more to send it than the contents cost . do hope you recieved them ,anyway many happy returns luv pam and alex
22nd July 2007

I've finally found you!
Hey sweetie! Okay so my email address has totally bombed on me so I have to use my crappy aol one so this is where I am! That's why I haven't been able to get in touch with you, so sorry! Oz looks amazing! Love your blogs! Hope you ok! Baby says hey! Luv you loads x x x x
23rd July 2007

It looks like paradise!
Hey Cat! Looks like your having a fantastic time, love the blogs and the scenic pictures are amazing! Just come back from 3 weeks in Florida to the crappy English whether :( So just what exactly were the Captain and the diving instructor doing in your cabin Miss Birch??! Hmmm? Grubby pic of you was funny too, bet it was agony for you being that grubby! keep the updates coming! missing you loads, Louise xx

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.048s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb