Skydiving in Byron


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
December 31st 2006
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me in the plane before the jumpMe in the plane before the jumpMe in the plane before the jump

I suddenly realise what I'm about to do...what have I let myself in for?
For those of you who don't know, I've always wanted to do a skydive, and it was on my list of things to do when I came to Australia. So, one night I was chatting with a couple of Swiss guys, Dom and Martin, and I said how I wanted to do a skydive. They were both adament that they didn't want to do it. But after a few drinks Dom shook my hand and agreed to join me the next day. Martin and Tom both point blank said they weren't coming. Anyway, the next morning over breakfast all three boys said they'd come and we booked the skydive, to pick us up in 45 minutes. Suddenly the thought of what we were about to do hit Dom, who went very pale.

We arrived at the skydive centre where there were a lot of very excited people who had just finished their jumps and were watching the dvd's of their jump. Watching this with them and hearing all about it just made me more excited, and Tom suddenly lost his fear and got very excited too. Eventually we were paired up with our jumping buddy and put in our harness. Next thing I knew we were in the plane taking off. It was such a perfect day to do the jump, it was so hot and sunny, the sky was blue and the sea was so clear. Dom and Martin were thrown out of the plane first and me and Tom looked at eachother in excited horror realising it was only us left in the plane and that the others had just thrown themselves out at 14,000 feet. Suddenly my buddy started moving me forward and as we reached the door and hung my legs over the edge I thought "What the hell am I doing", but I was so excited. Suddenly he launched us forward and we were falling. I really can't explain the feeling, it was so different to anything, and to what I thought it would feel like, but it was absolutley amazing. After a few seconds I could open my arms and start waving at the camera man, who appeared out of nowhere. The freefall lasted 60 seconds, and all I could hear was the wind whistling through your ears and I could just about hear myself screaming, and then he pulled the rope to open the parachute. Suddenly we were launched upwards as the parachute opened, and then everything went silent. We were just floating through the sky, so I took my goggles off and we just cruised through the air, and he did some really quick spins which was like being on one of the really scary rides at Alton Towers but 100 times better. This was such an amazing feeling flying through the air over Byron with the crystal blue sea just below. Then he told me to lift my legs for landing and although it seemed like we were coming in too fast, we landed perfectly.

Now, for those of you who have seen Bridget Jones Diary, the scene when she's in the convertable car with Hugh Grant driving out to the country, and she loses her headscarf, so when she arrives at the country house her hair is a total mess.....well during the freefall my hairband came out, so by the time we got to the ground my hair was Bridget Jones stylie, you'll see this on the dvd. It took me a while to get all the knots and tangles out after that.

All the boys totally enjoyed their jumps too which was great.

Mum and dad, I'll send the dvd to you and my certificate. Feel free to watch the dvd, there's an apology on the film for you at the beginning. But I'm still alive and no injurys so it's fine. Although I think I've got the bug now, and I'm thinking of doing another one when I'm in New Zealand.

Anyway, wishing you all a Happy New Year Lots of love xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

This is the point when the parachute openedThis is the point when the parachute opened
This is the point when the parachute opened

and the force totally swung my legs up in the air
I want to do it againI want to do it again
I want to do it again

Note the Bridget Jones hair


4th January 2007

Rock on Bridget!
WOW...the pictures are amazing..I think you may have had the same buddy as me...how strange! xx
5th January 2007

Hello at last!!
Hi fairy, at kast my comment has worked, have been trying to post one for ages and it never works although you know what my PC abilities are!! The photos are amazing! It looks so fab, you are very brave!!Lots of love me xxxxxxxxxx
6th January 2007

You lucky lil sister
Hey Sis, looks like you are having a wonderful time, i am sooooo enviouse (spelling crap) Me got job with the kids by the way. you have loads more fun lil sis. Love James

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb