Blue Mountain Bus Ride


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
November 20th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey All, it's Jordan. It's 1020 pm on Thursday night and me and dad are resting up for the Hunter Valley Winery tour tomorrow. Today was a fun day. We took a bus ride through the Blue Mountains which is about an hour outside of Sydney. It is a gorgeous place. The mountain scenery does give off a blue color, due to the oils in the gum tree leaves.

The first stop on this trip was a wildlife park. We got to interact a lot with the animals, as shown by the pictures I uploaded. There was a Tasmanian Devil area, but there was no damn devils in the cage! This is the 2nd wildlife park I've been to with no Tasmian Devils. It's starting to get annoying. I have a feeling I will never get to see a real live T. Devil.

When we got to the Blue Mountain scenic area, Dad stayed up in the viewing area due to his sprained ankle, and I decided to take the path down to the bottom of the rainforest valley. I only made it down half way because I was starting to run out of time, but the view was amazing. The cliff walls were roughly 400-600 feet high, with a waterfall running down the slope. I could have easily have spent a couple days just hiking through this region.

In other news, I booked our flight and car rental for New Zealand. We are flying into Christchurch, and then driving through the South Island to get to Queenstown. I opted for the auto transmission, since driving on the opposite side of the street for 6 days is going to be hard enough without having to worry about shifting too. Queenstown has all the wild adventure attractions, including the Shotover Canyon Jet boat ride! There is a chance I may go skydiving when I'm there, but I'll have to wait and see. Alright, until next time, adios everyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



20th November 2008

Who won the stare down?
Cool pics. Looks like a beautiful place. What is this about John spraining his ankle??? Keep it up and ice it down for a day or two it will help the swelling. I ask Garry to send John an email concerning Kathlyn so maybe y'all can get together. Patty will try to contact a friend of her's there in New Zealand.
20th November 2008

Blue Mountain BusRide
Jordan/John, I love all the pictures posted today.... Enjoy the Vinyard tour tomorrow and have some wine for me....Toni

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb