The Sounds of Silence


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Batemans Bay
March 7th 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 486

I was up bright and early -ish this morning, I said “morning” to Barry who was sitting reading the paper, about 4 mtrs away from the trailer, I can see a Kangaroo lying in a hollow that just seemed the perfect place for a lazy Sunday morning. It must be great being a Kangaroo as there is no washing up to do or any other domestic chores for that matter.

As it was nice and early and camp wasn’t to busy I had grabbed my towel and wash bag so I knew I would get a nice shower before the melee started, so with my 2 x 20 cents I walked past, mother and Joey, they didn’t even look up or get distracted from the leisure of lying in a shallow culvert, and headed toward the amenities block.

After my 20 cent shower and a shave I went and sat quietly with a cup tea and the lap top doing some blog work, we don’t have any internet access but I finished drafting out yesterday’s blog, “Here Comes Mr Cotton Tail hopping down the Bunny Trail!

It was still before 7.00, Caroline got out of bed and grabbed her camera, and said she was just off to take some morning photo’s down on the beach, I asked her to be careful of the stingers on the beach and she said she would and wandered off.

Our camp table showed signs of visitors in the night again it would probably have been those Naughty Possums.

Whilst Caroline was gone the heavens opened up and the rain was coming down in stairs rods, so knowing that she would be sheltering from the rain I jumped in the truck to go and rescue her.

As I drove down the lane I found Caroline sheltering at the rangers station, she was glad to see me as she only had shorts, t-shirt on and her obligatory thongs on, so I pulled up and let her in. We were soon back taking shelter under the awning, having some breakfast and another cup of tea. However 15 minutes later the rain had stopped and the sun was coming out, so all would not be lost.

Lee wandered past and said “G’day” and mentioned they would be ready once they had had their breakfast and would then come over, he then walked off to collect some hot water.

Lee and Marilyn came over, it was about 10.45 and plans were being put in place for a walk, with mini maps out it was all sorted, but I just did not fancy going with them I just wanted to stay and do nothing really, just enjoy the peace and quiet, as we have been tearing around for the last 6 weeks, which has been relentless, I just wanted time to do nothing, so I decided to stay back at the Wendy House.

Caroline, Lee and Marilyn headed off each with a camera in hand, I dropped the recliner on my chair back and bathed in the silence of man but enjoying the sound of the rain forest, how I have longed to listen to the sounds of silence again.

I’m sure somewhere in me relaxing in the chair, I must have nodded off to sleep and when I woke I felt relaxed again. I personally think it is great to be able to snooze and can do it virtually at will.

The gang came back from their walk at around 2.15, armed with handfuls of shells and told me what a fantastic walk they had walking around to “Pebbly Beach” a bit further around the bay from Depot Beach.

Curry is on the menu for tonight’s dinner, Barry and Belinda were off in to Bateman’s Bay and asked us if there was anything that we wanted, we had most things but asked if they could get hold of some red hot Chillies and may be some Naan bread, as we had forgotten to pick any up when we went in yesterday.

The weather had come in pretty cloudy and it looked like rain, but we all knew that we were still having fun and if it did rain again then we would just sit under the awning as it was still warm.

I started preparing the curry; we had plenty of fire wood to burn so we could do it in the camp oven, this time though I wanted the fire to burn down so we could cook on the embers just not over the flame.

I had pre browned the chicken, just to be on the safe side, I have never handed out food poisoning and I didn’t intend to start now.

My excellent garlic chopper (thanks Helen) was doing a full shift and soon all the ingredients were prepared, we now know that we need to buy a larger camp oven as cooking for 6 is quite tough with our 4.5 quart camp oven full to the brim.

Before the fire was lit, it started to rain heavily again, so while the curry did its thing and cooked on the gas stove we all sat around chatting and drinking, darkness fell and the curry was dished up with warm naan’s for us all to indulge.

It was before 10.00 when everyone started to disperse back to respective campsites, it had been another good day and tiredness was setting in, not to mention the dulcet tones of the possums as they start to get lively in and around us.

Goodnight!
KJ





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



9th March 2010

No washing up for kangaroos?! This is my sort of humour.. Thanks for the comments - they are always appreciated. Actually, I AM earning money as a writer now - two articles at £600 each in a UK transport magazine, and I've written for some online publications too. Articles are never as much fun to write as the blog, though! If you're interested, I can send you the links to the online stuff. There'll be no Namibian, Wrecker Jon or underpants, though, I'm afraid..
9th March 2010

The Link
Hi Barnaby, please send the link through, we would love to read what you have done. Are you at home now or still on tour

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb