Where in the world has Becka Smith been?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Armidale
May 17th 2011
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey Lebtown gang!

My apologizes for your loss of sleep since I haven't updated for so very long! (I know my Grandma was very worried...even though she has no idea what a blog is.) Well, this past 2 months (WOW! was it really that long?) have been extremely eventful. I'll try my best to keep it short & sweet! Chelsea, Heather, and I spent an awesome 3 week holiday, away from uni, school work, and stress to have FUN! We booked a 12 night P&O cruise to Vanuatu, Fiji, and New Caledonia. This was my first cruise and WON'T be my last. The girls and I were 3 of the 6 Americans on the whole ship....we felt quite popular! (Check out the pictures posted of the cruise!) I do need to mention that this vacation was the first without my family (and Joe's family too, but we still act like kids!) Without the hustle and bustle of finding the best road races around the area, I really missed my them(especially my bros). The ping pong tables, kid pool, and ice cream bar really needed some Smith kid craziness.

After the cruise, the three of us headed to the Gold Coast for Easter weekend. We had massive shopping days...Yes, that was plural...DAYS. There was major damage done on this shopaholics part. At the Gold Coast, we stayed at Surfer's Paradise. It was made of beautiful beaches, tons of nightlife, an American breakfast cafe (still no luck on finding waffles though), shopping, all of this including it was the cleanliest city I have ever stepped foot in! It was a perfect vacation destination. Easter Sunday was celebrated with a home cooked meal made by Heather. On the menu was Spaghetti with cheese stuffed meatballs, peas, garlic bread, 1 liter of milk for the each of us. (I got her hooked on loving skim milk!) For dessert we had oreos....classic American teenage goto snack!

On ANZC day which is the day after Easter, is celebrated almost like Memorial Day back in the States. Kirsty and I planned to spend the rest of the holidays together and I left Surfer's Paradise on ANZC day. I am proud to say I made it out of the very scary/sometimes sticky situation of public transportation! I am still shocked that I got there on my own but I did it. Her family and I spent the week in the Sunshine Coast, specifically Bribie Island. We did more shopping and hanging out with my best Aussie girl! We loved watching the Royal Wedding- I'm OBSESSED! Cass/Hayls- can you please save me all the magazines?! I bought a ton here and thought we could compare!

We returned to Drummond & Smith on May 1st. Reuniting with the American girls was so sweet & I missed being away from them for so long! On May 2nd, we celebrated together with a toast to "the land of the free" and thanked God that evil Osama had his life ended. We also were able to watch President Obama's speech online. Since being back, we have been crushed with school work but still had time to celebrate Chels & Heath's Bdays! (Still waiting on the package Joe.....They would love to have their gifts that were purchased in February!) We also killed the other colleges by becoming undefeated in our girls' soccer tourney. It was an awesome day. I also do have to thank Miss Cassidy Shaver for her wonderful letters I have been receiving. Staying in that family tree, I got a letter from Grammy that totally made my day!
P&OP&OP&O

The ship!
(Where you at H-DAWG? I would love a letter from you & Soph baby, too!)

COMING UP NEXT: Trip to Sydney!! And Kirsty's Bday! Stay tuned😊

Thank you for reading! Enjoy the warm spring months for me, it is freezing over here!
My love to you all,
Rebekah
XOXO


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CruiseCruise
Cruise

The back of the boat...where we spent many days suntanning
Photo 45Photo 45
Photo 45

We stayed on deck 10!
Pentecoste Island, VanuatuPentecoste Island, Vanuatu
Pentecoste Island, Vanuatu

Asking for church donations
Pentecoste Island, VanuatuPentecoste Island, Vanuatu
Pentecoste Island, Vanuatu

Young boys had to jump off this tower to become men. They were tied by their feet with vines.
Pentecoste Island, VanuatuPentecoste Island, Vanuatu
Pentecoste Island, Vanuatu

The building of the church
Pentecoste Island, VanuatuPentecoste Island, Vanuatu
Pentecoste Island, Vanuatu

seashell hunting for Faye :)
seashell hunting for Faye :)seashell hunting for Faye :)
seashell hunting for Faye :)

look at my collection!
Villa, VanuatuVilla, Vanuatu
Villa, Vanuatu

Drinking out of cocoanut after Kayaking!
P&O P&O
P&O

Heather and I having a fun night
P&OP&O
P&O

Cute surprises!


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb