From a Pollywog to Shellback!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Armidale
February 12th 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

LEAVING!LEAVING!LEAVING!

THIS PHOTO OF CHELSEA, HEATHER AND I WAS TAKEN AT THE STATE COLLEGE AIRPORT RIGHT BEFORE WE LEFT!
G'Day! I hope to use this blog to tell all my loved ones, back in the United States, about my study abroad experience in Australia. I am studying at the University of New England located in Armidale, New South Wales. Even though I have only been in Australia for 9 days, it has been an amazing trip so far!

Many things have been hard to get adjusted to compared to my American lifestyle. The one thing that I get most nervous about is roundabouts. Instead of traffic lights and intersections, there are these traffic circles. I am slowly getting use to the driving on the left side of the road. Even though I am only a passenger in the car, it still throws me for a loop! Another different thing is that no one really uses Ketchup(my brother Daniel would NOT be able to survive!)...and they call it Tomato Sauce so if you ask for it, no one knows what you are talking about! It isn't that common for people to use it, so when I asked for 10 packets they thought I was crazy! They have a Burger King, but it's call Hungry Jacks. It has almost the same
Hungry Jacks!Hungry Jacks!Hungry Jacks!

The logo looks just like Burger King's!
sign! Ironically, since I have been in Armidale I have only eaten McDonalds (nicknamed Mackers) and Subway...very American. I suppose I will have to branch out and try Australian food some time... like Vegemite!! The last thing that is going to take some time to change is that my dorm building, Drummond and Smith, is called "college". The university itself is called "UNI". Sometimes I get mixed up with the different terms and meanings for these terms that I'm used to.

On February 9th, some of the returning students that were here early took Heather and I to this incredible place called Blue Hole. It was about 25 minutes away from UNE and the drive was gorgeous. It was green fields with huge boulders coming up in every direction that seemed to go on forever. When we got there it was a 3/4 mile hike to the swimming hole. Once we got close it was easy to hear the rushing water. Then we had to literally CLIMB down rocks for around 300 yards. Finally we arrived, and it was totally worth it! The water was high because of the recent flooding, but worth it when I jumped in. The
Give WayGive WayGive Way

Instead of having yield signs it says "give way"
current was strong but Mrs. Yocum's workouts sure helped me out getting out to the rocks! I can't wait to go back to Blue Hole!

On February 10th, Heather, Chelsea, and I went shopping down town. It was a gorgeous day to explore the streets of Armidale. One thing that we noticed was everyone is SO kind here. We were ready to take the bus to town, and one student down the hall offered to drive us, and another gave us his number to call him when we needed to come back. It makes it easier to feel comfortable here when everyone is so eager to help us! I am loving my time here!!

On February 11th was the International Student orientation. Most of the students are from Asia and Saudi Arabi. There are only 5 American students-the three girls from LHU, a boy from Washington State and a girl from Colorado. After the orientation we walked around campus. It is HUGE! All of the dorms are together at the bottom of a hill, and then it is about a mile walk uphill to all of the classroom buildings. Between the dorms and campus are fenced in areas
NEW SOUTH WALESNEW SOUTH WALESNEW SOUTH WALES

THIS IS ON OUR WAY TO BLUE HOLE!
where the kangaroos roam around! So cool!! Today the girls and I layed out because it is sunny and 90 degrees!!!

I'll update you all with the activities planned for O-week (orientation week) next time!
Thanks for reading!
Love,
Rebekah


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

AT BLUE HOLEAT BLUE HOLE
AT BLUE HOLE

CLIMBING DOWN THE ROCKS TO GET TO THE WATER.
AT BLUE HOLEAT BLUE HOLE
AT BLUE HOLE

HEATHER AND I!
KANGAROOS!KANGAROOS!
KANGAROOS!

THIS KANGAROOS ARE ON OUR CAMPUS!
KANGAROOSKANGAROOS
KANGAROOS

THIS IS THE FENCED IN AREA WHERE THE KANGAROOS ARE
O-WEEK!O-WEEK!
O-WEEK!

CHELSEA, HEATHER AND I DURING OUR FIRST DAY AT O-WEEK!


22nd February 2011

Have it your way at Hungry Jack's!
Remember to use sunscreen! How is Australia organized geographically? What are the names of some of the founding fathers? What year did Australia gain independence? Teach us about the history of Australia!
23rd February 2011

wtf..
No god please no. Keep the blog interesting. Do not tell us the founding fathers or when it gained independence. haha This is a blog not a history lesson. Good lord! Keep telling us about your daily life and your adventures please! :)
24th February 2011

I'll have mine Super Sized!
I'm really glad this isn't a black hole that you're visiting, it helps me sleep at night! One tip is to always call 'shotgun' so no matter what if you go to the wrong door you still get the front seat! :) I've always wanted to have a baby kangaroo because they are named Joey's, can you try to befriend one and bring him home with you!? Clue for special gift in package: Polarized!
25th February 2011

No Worries!
My mom wrote that comment! She was totally kidding....she knows that I would never write about that kind of stuff!
25th February 2011

Hi mom!!
Thank you for the comment, Mom! I don't think I'll be writing about that stuff though....someone in another comment told me not to!
25th February 2011

hi joe!
Joe, the only thing that helps you sleep better at night is if you take out your contacts.....I WANT A PACKAGE ASAP:) :) yay!! Thank you for the comment!
25th February 2011

outback
You must of been crazy going to ausy world, but, you will never forget it. Just remember, Joey's can be mean, so stay with sheep dogs. They are more loyal and safer. Winning it not everything it is the only thing.
27th February 2011

Great Rocks!
Luv ur pics, those are some cool rock trails, Jim would love running those! Heard you saw some sort of giant lizard! Can't wait to see a picture of that! Hope u r having fun. Hi to you from G-Ma.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb