Our world tour Part 2


Advertisement
Published: March 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Friday March 17, 2017

The day started with a hike, i.e. a hike up Mount Ainslie; "a mountain" of some 850 m high. Not very demanding, but for me, a trip back to the past. I had not hiked a decent "mountain" for quite a while. It felt great. Going up, to my surprise a ran into a dark grey kangaroo one with rings around the eyes that look like glasses. The interesting thing was that he stopped at some 7 meters next to the path I was going on. He looked my way, and I obviously looked his. Before I could get my phone out for a picture, he was hopping away downhill. He was in no hurry, nevertheless he was faster than I could get my phone ready. Fascinating these type of encounters. Going up and down took me about an hour. I could have not have been more happier.

After breakfast we returned to the War Memorial, an exhibition of Australia's involvement in the different wars; Boers War in South Africa (did not made me happy), WW1, WW2, Korean war, etc. The comments encountered at the Monument indicate clearly the pride the Australian take in their involvement and the impact they created. Understandable if you take into consideration that Australia really does not have an own history. It is a young country, that never has seen wars of independence or something similar. The monument is very well done and highly recommendable a visit.

After the Memorial, we visited the Lanyon Homestead, an 200 year old house situated some half hour outside of the city, with its original furniture. The house in its days was used as a trading post situated between Melbourne and Sydney. A visit really worthwhile.

The rest of the day we took it easy and finished the day with a barbecue at the apartment of Pedro and Saribel. Apart from the four of us,they had inviated two Australian friends, Nick and Chris, who took care of the cooking. The result was a great meal with lamb chops, sausages, patato and pasta salad, cheese and crackers. A great meal and company.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

IMG_3025IMG_3025
IMG_3025

Now that's a cone!


Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb