Come Fly with Me


Advertisement
Published: January 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

The Old and the New
Blog Day 794


It was Tuesday already and it was back to work, I was walking around the flat at 5.30 in a complete daze, trying to find this and that.

I took Caroline her cup of tea and left it on her bedside Cabinet at 06:15 and she managed to grunt at me. We were sitting at our desks at 07.15 and we were not the first ones in, how sad is that?

By the time we got to Thursday afternoon, the conundrum had been solved, the conundrum that was left at the end of my last blog. Over Christmas Caroline had said to me, she wonders who was going to be the first one to fly out of the two of us in the New Year.

Well believe it or not, we both had to fly to Sydney of Friday as we were going to have to attend the same meeting, which we both thought was just excellent.

Due to the fact that we hardly see much of each other and being a Friday we decided to extend our stay overnight so that we could go out and have dinner, enjoy a bit
Breakfast in SydneyBreakfast in SydneyBreakfast in Sydney

Caroline looking Radiant
of time together then fly home on Saturday afternoon.

Our company booked our travel separately, Caroline had been seated in 1A at the very pointy end of the aircraft and I was in 18A nearly at the back, Caroline said “do you want to sit next to me?” I said I am not that bothered really, and she said “well I want I want to sit by you.” She spoils all my fun.

I was rudely awoken at 4.00am by my alarm clock, Caroline had already packed the night before, and left the case open for me to put a few bits and pieces in. I can never be bothered to do it on an evening, I am so much more awake first thing in the morning, I just get up and get myself ready.

I took Caroline her tea at 04:30 and she was soon out of bed, we were excited as the last time we had flown together was when we arrived in Australia in 2008, and in between we have both flown many times separately.

We were at Canberra airport by 06.00, parked and sitting in the Qantas lounge waiting for our flight, another of our colleagues comes and joins us, he is off to Adelaide on business and has a quick cup of coffee with us.

The flight only takes 55 minutes, and is just nice, I love the Dash 8, Turbo prop aircraft, we had the conversation about what aircraft we like to fly on and Caroline said she much prefers a 747, there is a bit of a difference here though.

We had a very interesting day on Friday, we find it really easy working together as both our minds work in different ways, but do compliment each other and we do get the job done. After a hard day we left our work place and travelled across Sydney to our hotel, we were staying at the Medina Grand near Darling Harbour.

On route, our MD called me, and his words were exactly this.

“Andy, I wonder if you would do me a favour, and don’t say no, until I have told you the whole proposal.” It seems that both Caroline and I have both been dispatched to Christmas Island, Caroline for 2 weeks and me for a couple of months.

By the time we got to our hotel, it was just past 6.00pm and we were beat, I lay on the bed while Caroline had a bath, then we swopped places.

Our room was 119 on the 26th floor and the view was absolutely amazing, looking over the balcony the people going about their business were tiny, and the view over the Sydney Skyline was impressive.

We had to pinch ourselves, commenting on how lucky we were to be in a beautiful city, in a great Hotel, together, something we have not done for a long time, in fact, the last time we were in Darling harbour together was 2006, with our chums Gary and Karen Barber, when we came out on our expeditionary trip with them.

Both bathed and shaved, well I was shaved, we headed out for dinner in Sydney, we were so pleased to be together, we intended to enjoy every moment and make sure we enjoyed the fruits of our hard work.

We walked from Darling Harbour to Cockleshell Wharf where we found a restaurant called Adria’s over looking the water, some cool boats were moored within the harbour and the occupants were enjoying the fruits of their labour.

We watched a group of people gently corral their multi million dollar boat, in to its berth and then they moored the beast, got off and went in to a restaurant, the height of chic.

Caroline and myself had an awesome dinner, Helen, I had Junee lamb, and proudly support the Riverina, and may have even eyeballed this sheep at some stage, whilst up at our favourite farm.

Caroline had the Queensland beef, sorry Helen but she just is not the supportive type, and only thinks of herself, but we both finished our dinner with a Banana and Crème Brulee, which was sensational.

We loved every minute of being in Sydney, just loving its ambiance, Darling Harbour seemed to look so different from what I remembered.

By the time we finished our dinner it was 10.00pm, we had been up since 4.00am and in my book that was a long day so we decided to stroll back to the hotel

Walking back, we heard the unmistakable sounds of the Didgeridoo so just had to go and investigate, this guy was sitting cross legged on the floor and man was he good,
Balancing ActBalancing ActBalancing Act

A Pelican balancing on a lamp post
I did suggest that it would be impossible for me to do the Chicken dance without my mate, Gary Barber.

We left and walked back to the hotel, got to our room and slid in to bed.

We woke up on Saturday morning to the most beautiful, hot summers day, looking out from our balcony the only thing on our minds was breakfast, Caroline said she was so hungry she could eat a scabby donkey, but I was unsure of where we could get one from, though a scabby Kangaroo we could possibly do.

We walked in to the centre and spied a suitable venue for brekky, I scanned the menu, but again, no scabby donkeys were listed, though Bacon and eggs were so Caroline would have to make do. Once all the grinding of teeth and gnashing of bacon was finished he walked on further in to Sydney.

We walked in to an R.M. Williams shop, R.M Williams are the “Bush Out fitters” and their stuff is the best of the best, All Australian made and built to last, I brought Caroline a pair of R.M Williams Ladies boots that are absolutely beautiful, a mere snip at $250 instead of the usual $400. I nearly picked up a fella’s pair but just could not make my mind up, so I didn’t bother.

We walked on and Caroline has been interested in purchasing a Canon 100mm Macro lens for her camera, we entered the camera shop and she went to work testing the new lens on her old Camera body.

Every Camera, Caroline has owned whilst we have been married, has been purchased by me, and I was not going to break that habit, so we walked out of the camera dealer with a new Canon 7D, a 100mm Stabilized macro lens, Data card, spare battery and filter and she was ecstatic and cannot wait to get the batteries charged up and get practicing.

We spent a few more hours mooching in Sydney then we took a cab back to our hotel, Picked up our luggage, then speed on towards the airport for a 3.20pm flight back to Canberra.

With only a 55 minute flight, by the time the wheels get retracted and you gain cruising height, and the hostess has given you a bottle of juice, the pilot announces that the crew are to prepare for landing.

We were soon back in the flat in Bruce at 5.00pm and had to quickly shower and change as we were due out to dinner, we were going out in to Canberra for a curry which we have not had since August last year before I went to Christmas Island.

Sunday morning I was up early, I had the most horrendous nights sleep as I have so much on my mind, when I woke I felt exhausted.

With our forth coming trip, we again had very little time and as we have been wanting to visit the National Museum of Australia to see the exhibition about the Canning Stock route, which we both hope to drive one day when we get going again.

So that’s really it, for now, we have minor shopping, washing and packing before once again we set off on another leg of our adventure.

Andy

p.s. while Caroline edited my blog we watched the 2011 Dakar Rally, once again we have a couple of friends racing in the rally.in South America, so send our best wishes to Patsey Quck and Tony Epps and the team



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



12th January 2011

Nala
Who is going to look after Nala when you zoom off to Christmas Island?? There is only one rider left in the race from Desert Rose Hintenaus, a South African). Not so much work to do now! Tony was sitting watching Patsy change mousses yesterday in a sandstorm. Si Pavey (BMW!) has had a few breakages which has left him way down the table and very long hard days. He hasn't got to the end yet today but hoping he will limp in. P & T are only half helping him but as he's an honoury Brit we have to hope he makes it to the end in 3 days time. Have a safe trip back to the island.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb