The Hand of Fate.


Advertisement
Published: December 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post


Well blog readers, on Wednesday 1st December, was the first official day of Australian summer time, and yep it was raining.

In fact it has rained virtually constantly since last Sunday.

When we came to Canberra back in January 2010, we noted that the dams were 47% full or there about and today as I set this blog out on Saturday the 4th December they are 100% full which is the first time in 30 years, so said the Television last night.

Back in the UK we would get the odd spell of a Water shortage, throughout their 2 days of summer, but we never really appreciated just how precious this H20 stuff really is, certainly until we understood how it affected the growing of crops at our favourite farm, which was in drought for at least 10 years.

On this note, I spoke to Helen the other day and they are waiting for the rains to stop as they need to be on with the Harvest, which should be just about in full swing by know but some of the paddocks are so wet the harvest machinery will get bogged, so it can’t be done, lets keep our fingers crossed that, in the next few days it will be dry and Robert and the boys and get amongst it and bring the harvest In.

Well since my last blog, of last week what has been happening, well I had an appointment with the Hospital in Wagga, to check out my repaired belly button, it has healed nicely and Caroline and myself were so surprised how well it has taken.

My appointment was for Wednesday 8th December at 11.00 O’clock, but just wait and I will tell you more.

On Saturday 11 December we were off to Woodstock to have a pre Christmas lunch with Robert and Helen, it was our plan that as Woodstock would be knee deep in Harvest then, we would go along and prepare a pre Christmas dinner for them.
As usual, Helen and Roberts generosity has known no bounds and they had kindly invited Caroline and myself to Woodstock for Christmas, but unfortunately we can’t make it as we have promised that we would go to Wollongong to look after Nala for Faye and Graydon Hubbard.

So everything was planned out beautifully, The Hospital, Woodstock,, the hopeful selling of the Wendy House, The companies Christmas party on the 16th, then off to the Gong on the 23rd.

The hand of fate, waved her wand, and we were standing on our heads again.

On Wednesday 8th December, I leave for Christmas Island!!, and if I could have got a flight earlier, then I would have gone sooner.

The good thing I am excited about is getting to see more of the crab migration, which will be great and my fantastic colleagues whom I have worked with before.

This weekend we have tried to have a productive weekend along with a bit of time for each other, so in between shopping washing and domestic stuff like that we managed to drop in and see Keith and Jan and also catch up with Helen on our favourite farm.

As I have said a few paragraphs before, Woodstock has been in drought for 10 years, now there is so much water, their harvest, along with many other farmers is in turmoil.

I wouldn’t dare tell you things regarding Helen and Robert, that they would not approve of, but I have checked what I am about to write.

Keeping in mind the 10 years of drought and how parched the Riverina area has been, now with excessive rains there just does not seem to be a fair balance.

If you want to look back on the blog to about November last year, when I was driving Roberts John Deere, 7430 tractor, towing the small chaser bin, well Robert and Helen have just taken delivery of a brand new chaser bin that is to big, it can not be pulled by the 7430, but instead has to be pulled by the humongous John Deere Tractor they own.
The hope was to speed up the Harvest process with the new chaser bin, but because the new chaser bin being so big and heavy and can only be pulled by the big tractor, it can not be taken in to the paddocks as they are so wet and will get bogged

Helen has sent us some unbelievable photo’s today from around the area, which I hope you enjoy.

It amazes us, how un ruffled and for ever optimistic Helen stays, it seems there is always something just around the corner that is just about to ruin all your hard work.

Some of North Wagga has already been evacuated, Woodstock is about 60 K’s from Wagga, but they have been cut off from the Gundagai side.

I was really looking forwards to going to Woodstock, for a pre Christmas dinner, it was our treat to Helen and Robert as Helen is always accommodating, and because of the harvest we could just have given a bit back.

I am at work until Wednesday afternoon, Caroline is flying to Sydney on Wednesday morning, and I will be flying to Perth Wednesday afternoon.

I think Caroline has another blog, in the “Chamber” nearly ready to go, so hopefully we are back on track.

Finally my flight is not due back until Christmas eve, and knowing how temperamental the flights are Caroline will need to pick me up from Sydney as she will have already left for Wollongong.

If my flight is delayed, in Caroline’s words it will be Turkey dinner for 1 or Dog food for 2, lets just hope I can get back in time.

My best to you all.


Advertisement



13th December 2010

Flooding at Gumly Gumly
I was wondering how things were going at the farm. It seems that farmers go from one extreme to another. Don't know how they cope. I was living in Gumly Gumly in the early 1980s when it last flooded. Most houses away from the river are fine but properties on the Eunony Bridge road always suffer. When the Eunony bridge was opened in the 70s it was boasted to be the only flood-free bridge in the Wagga area. Nobody mentioned that the bridge might be flood-free but the roads approaching it weren't! Enjoy your Christmas in Woollongong. John.
16th December 2010

Hope all is well
Just saw on the news about a 'refugee' ship that capsized on Christmas Island. Sound like pretty bad weather. Hope all is well there. Wow. How did you manage all that time together when you were travelling? Sure seems like you have been apart, more than together since you started working. And, I think, you mentioned that your jobs in the UK kept you apart for long periods of time. Linda and I did that travel thing for only 3 months and it was absolutely great. Such a wonderful country to travel in. Keep up the occasionaly blog as I, and others, like to keep track of where you are and what you are doing.
17th December 2010

Hi Gary, thanks for your message, we both certainly have been busy, we came to Australia for an adventure and boy we got it. Our Seasons Greetings. Andy

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb