Reverse Cycle


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Christmas Island
December 19th 2010
Published: December 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Great FriendsGreat FriendsGreat Friends

Some of my amazing Colleagues on CI


Tuesday night was our last club night for ACT 4 wheel drive club, we had a sausage sizzle down at Molonglo Reach which was great fun, and hopefully next year we can do a bit more with the club as they do have some good trips coming up.

Talking to one of the guys there who organises such trips, he was saying in 2013 they will be doing a possible trip doing some tracks we really want to do, such as the Gun Barrel highway, Gary Junction which are all sort of, left of centre on the big map of Australia.

As I have said before I have a deep respect for the late Len Beadell whom carved out 2.5 Million square miles of un explored Australia, so feel we need to go and do justice to these great tracks, he toiled for 40 years for.

Unfortunately we missed a trip this week end, it was to Blackmans point, but we were booked to go to Woodstock which we were both looking forwards to.

I dropped Caroline off at Canberra airport, last Wednesday at 06.00, she was off to Sydney on Business.

I was
Block RoadsBlock RoadsBlock Roads

After Storms, we had to clear trees from acoss the road, to get to work
flying out to Perth tonight and would only be in the office until 2.00pm as I had not even packed yet.

Again our lives were up side down, but in a fun way.

We had a great plan, Caroline would be coming back in to Canberra airport arrivals terminal at 5.50pm, I was to park the Patrol and remember where I parked it, as Caroline was driving it home (she had the spare keys just in case)

The plan was to meet here in Arrivals, to see her as I was flying outward bound at 7.30 to Perth, then on to Christmas Island.

We met in the Qantas club lounge, managed to get about ¾ of an hour together, ate pizza, (see I know the best places to take my wife for dinner) then it was all in reverse, I was off that way and she was taking the Patrol home.

We were due to be off the ground by 7.30 but didn’t get away until 8.15pm, eventually touching down at 12.45am Canberra time, then jumping in to a Cab and heading across Perth

I didn’t sleep, on the plane strangely enough, which is not like me, but sat until the light faded outside, then turning my attention to my 4 wheel drive magazine

I think Caroline, will go and see the gang, at Woodstock if she can get through the floods around Gundagai.

My flight is not due home until 24th December and knowing how un reliable the flights are off the island, Caroline said to me,

If you not back from Christmas Island then I will have to go to the gong on my own, it will be Christmas Turkey for one.

I said look on the Brightside it could be dog food for two, I’m sure Nala, will share her dog food with you, and it will make your hair lovely and silky

I arrived in Christmas Island at 5.00pm CI time on Thursday evening, the weather was muggy and I new we were in for a tropical storm.

A few of my old colleagues had come to collect various people who were on the flight and it was great to catch up with them, I new there would be plenty more to come.

I collected my hire car and chucked my luggage in and I was off down the phosphate roads to Poon Saan, god, it was great to be back.

I collected my keys and found my room 553 G1/A as I pulled up my old scooter that I lovingly hired and rode was parked at the next block, I just hoped that someone else was having as much fun on it as I did.

It was getting late and I was dog tired, I was due to have dinner with one of the directors but he had to cry off, so it was a quick walk down to the skanky Ho to order a take away.

I woke at 3.10 am wide awake and rolled around the bed for an hour before getting up and putting the TV on.

I showered and shaved and was in work at just after 6.00am, and as I parked the car, I wondered if my security pass had been cancelled or would I still be able to access the facility.

With a quick swipe the led turned green and I pulled the door open and I was inside, it was just as If I had never been away.

I worked until 3.00pm then went home to try to get a nana nap before I went out for something to eat.

I had turned my phone to silent, so I would not be disturbed and when I woke found I had 3 messages inviting me out fort dinner at seasons Place this evening at 7.00pm.

I was a great evening and even better to catch up with past acquaintances.

Loads of people said, ah we met Caroline, she is absolutely lovely and so professional, which was nice.

The Island just seems so different from when I was here last, so green, but we are right in the wet season now and boy does it know how to rain.

I was quite surprised there were no robber crabs out, these timid creature I have found out have retreated back to the jungle, or is that the funky jungle, to mate, so lets hope the numbers of these unique creatures increases instead of the 600+ I wrote about in 600 Slaughtered. Xxxxxx

Because of the shocking weather and the fact that my time is very limited, I have not sight seen at all, but just worked, getting in at around 6.00 am or just before and most days working until around 7.30, yes I know what a dull life.!!
It is great to be back, much “Mickey taking” from my colleagues, which was a part of the fun of the island.

This week, will be a week I will never forget, the Island is saddened by the tragic loss of lives, that we encountered.

I won’t dwell on this as it is a world reported event, but what I will say, is my colleagues feel the loss deeply, and they risked their lives trying to save others, which makes me feel proud to work with such amazing people.

Just being there, was so surreal, the weather was just so cruel, but the whole island pulled together, which was awesome.

I have been here 10 days now, every day has been busy with this and that, I am looking forwards to seeing Caroline again on Friday 24th Blimey, that will be Christmas eve.

I will keep you posted on events, and sorry for being a bit rubbish at blogging at the moment.

All I can say as a final comment, is Caroline and myself would just like to wish you all a very happy Christmas and a prosperous new year, but just stop for 1 second and think how lucky we all are.

Andy


Advertisement



19th December 2010

Len Beadell
If you do nothing else , you must do the Len Beadell Roads and Canning Stock Route with your 4 WD friends. It is a memorable experience like nothing else that you have done so far. I would do it again in a heart beat..... Still loving your blog, (have followed it from day one) You have taught and inspired me to keep dreaming of seeing this great country of ours. Thank you, continue to enjoy life and blog. Good luck on becoming Aussie citizen from the lady at the Royal Flying Doctor's Visitors Centre in Cairns (which has now closed down), whom you where talking to re Cape York roads before you did same.
19th December 2010

RFDS-Lady
Hi, wow, is all i can say, we talk about our visit to the RFDS in Cairns regularly, hand hold a place in our heart for all things to do with the Royal Flying Doctor Service. We handed out the balance of the Christmas Cards we purchased from there, this year. I remember our conversation as if it was yesterday, I must apologise but I can not remember your name. Could you tell me why Carins Closed down, I would be interested in knowing. We hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas and a prosperous new year. Our love. Andy & Caroline
19th December 2010

RFDS-Lyn
Morning Lyn, Sorry about that, my only excuse is it is early in the morning, and I missed your name. Andy
25th December 2010

RFDS Cairns
Hi Andy and Caroline Hope you had Christmas together and enjoyed. RFDS Visitors Centre closed due to financial pressure. Needed maintenance, and money tight to do more pressing RFDS things. I miss it but life goes on, as you know in another direction. Hope 2011 is good to you and all your wishes and plans go full steam ahead. All the best Lyn Hortin Cairns

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb