We Three Kings


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

King BrownKing BrownKing Brown

Taken at Dusk, One of two King Brown Snakes, on the Tarmac, Trying to retain the heat of the day
Day 586

We three kings, well two actually.

Caroline called me last night and said they were out on the road when they saw two King Brown snakes in the road.

I asked her if she had got any photo's and she said that she had just mailed me one, and attached is the picture.

The picture only shows one snake as the other decided he didn't want to be in the picture, but the one that she took apparantly only wanted to stop and fight.

It must have had its cranky pants on.

This is a creature I have never seen in the wild, so well done Caroline for getting the shot.

Well how does she know its a King Brown, well one of her colleagues who is a resident of the area, identified it, and if you are bitten by one of these you are in serious trouble.

Caroline said her male collegues, where shrieking like girls from the saftey of the car.

This is how Wikipedia describes the King Brown or Mulga Snake.

Mulga snakes are large venomous snakes growing from 2.5 metres to 3 metres in length. It is exceeded in size by the venomous King Cobra, the African Mambas, the Australian Taipan, and genus Lachesis (Bushmaster). Depending on its areal extent, mulga snakes can be of a light brown colour in the desert to a dark brown-blackish colour in the cooler regions of Queensland, South Australia and New South Wales. Mulga snakes are robust with a wide head and smooth snout

Advertisement



15th June 2010

We Three Kings
No wonder why the other men were shrieking like girl. The King Brown snake is simply an amazing snake of it's kind. The picture taken is also very nice and the King is captured in the pic very well. Traveling at night always gives you something new to see or learn.
16th June 2010

Snakes and travel ...
I was riding down to Hilton Head Island over the weekend and hit a very larg snake that was tring to cross the road infront of my bike. Scared the crap out of me. Not sure what kind it was. Just a reminder that we all need to be careful when we are traveling. Alec
5th July 2010

King Brown
Ditto that Shadow Man, I think it served to remind me what dangers this country holds, always pays to be alert, we were in the Kimberely at the same time last year and it now makes me wonder how many king browns we were near without even knowing. Andy always reminds me to check the ground before stepping out of the vehicle, they are so well camouflaged. Mrs KJ
5th July 2010

Wildlife
Hi Kieran, thanks for your comment, I agree I think that most men might shriek like a girl at seeing such a sight. We were lucky to get the picture. I think I was the only one that did not shriek as I was trying to get a picture and that is not easy from sitting in the car and I did not have any zoom lens with me..... When Andy and I have been on the road, we try not to travel too much at night, because of the dangers of hitting wildlife and of course not to mention being early enough to find somewhere safe to camp for the night. In that region hire car firms also don't insure you for travel in the dark hours because of high risk in hitting cattle and kangaroo's! We have learnt so much on our trip, every day has been something new to learn.... mrs KJ

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb