Rihla #23


Advertisement
North America
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I was younger I was taught not to judge anyone just because he or she can’t do anything the same as me. I am the youngest of three children and I am the only girl. My family is the most unique aspect of my life because of the people in it. My mom and my two older brothers were born with a learning disability, Dyslexia. They have difficulty comprehending texts and writing papers, so I have to help them out because I don’t have a learning disability.

Growing up wasn’t the most normal thing in grade school for me. In fifth grade I started helping my family out academically along with my dad. I began helping out my brothers with writing papers and proofreading my mother’s work. Over the years, the reoccurring theme in my household has been me helping out my mom and my brothers with their reading and grammar skills. Although my brothers never liked my help, I gave it to them anyway, and they would take the advice or leave it depending on their mood. To have the youngest person in the family help everyone else is out of the ordinary. Usually the mother and older siblings help the youngest, but this aspect of my life is the best because it has made the greatest impact.

Because I grew up helping my family, I think that I am a better person for it. I have become more understanding of other people’s disabilities. I don’t make fun of people because they can’t do certain things as well as I can. I also am more willing to help people out and tutor them. I believe in tolerance of others’ disabilities because they shouldn’t be judged on their inability to do something. When I give help and am tolerant, I get a good feeling as well as benefitting the other person.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.471s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb