Rihla # 16


Advertisement
North America
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

*Reflect on our classroom discussion and think about the mountains in your life as you answer questions #1-3

1. Celebrate your history at UICCP: What is a mountain that you think you have climbed since your time here at UICCP? Be specific and explain. What helped you cross this mountain?

The mountain that I have climbed since I the beginning of my time at UICCP is coming out of my shell. I am a very reserved person; I do not enjoy sharing my feelings with others. I have struggled with being more outspoken and expressive. The things that have helped me get out of my shell is getting involved in debates and doing presentations. I also try to participate in each class at least once. Although, I have not reached the top of the mountain, I continue to push forward.

2. What immediate mountain is before you in your final semester as a senior? Be specific. How do you plan to tackle this mountain? How do you need help climbing this mountain?

As of this final semester of high school, my laziness is my immediate mountain. My commitment to continue trying my best is at risk during these last few months of school. This past semester, I completely fell off of this mountain. Despite my fall, I am geared up and ready to reach the peak. I plan to arm myself with valor and self motivation. I have begun to take steps toward this goal by starting my homework days before it is actually due. I also do my homework with another person to make sure I complete it accurately. Aside from continuing with the newly formed habits, I will be looking to my teachers for guidance. A mistake of mine last semester was isolating myself from the help that was offered to me. This time, I will reach out to them when I feel myself sleeping.

3. Create a mountain! Of course there will be many challenges and responsibilities that come with getting older. But what is a mountain that you want to create for yourself? Why this mountain? How do you plan on tackling it?

The mountain that I have created is to find myself. This is my time to be selfish; my time to find me. I want to discover my strengths and weaknesses. I have looked torward this mountian for many years. I thought I was climbing it numerous times, but I found that I have only walked around it. This is my time to climb. My time to learn about my goals and interests. The reason I chose this mountain is because of a question that I have been asked by a person numerous times: what do you want to be in life. Ofcourse I have found myself being asked this since I was a very young child. However, I am transitioning into adulthood. I can no longer say "a doctor" because I know that is not what I want to do. Surprisingly enough, I find myself speechless when I am asked this question. Plain and simple, I dont know what I want to be or do. To begin this climb I will be exploring my interests and dreams. I want to challenge myself to do things I have never done before( as long as they are not inapropiate). I also plan on not letting myself get influenced by what others want me to do or expect me to do. I will not be categorized by someone else.

(For Example – think of Jordan Romero’s goal to climb the summits! Your mountain does not have to be an actual mountain…but what big goal do you have for yourself?)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb