The Grove - Hollywood


Advertisement
North America
October 14th 2011
Published: October 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last day in the US of A!! Plan was to go to Venice beach and Santa Monica. Woke up, made my free pancakes (after a couple of pathetic attempts), then found out Curly was food poisoned from Hooters. Amazed I wasn't to be honest. Went back to bed for a nap and then walked to Hollywood Blvd. Walked into a wig shop just to check it out, and ended up buying one. Have wanted a wig for ages, and have been missing my dark hair. My wig and I then caught bus to The Grove. I love it here. Such a great atmosphere, and the Farmers Market is awesome. Just strolled around. Had lunch at The Cheesecake Factory (as seen in Big Bang Theory). It is nothing like in the show. It's really nice. Had lunch, but no cheesecake. Was pretending to be healthy. They have 35 different flavors!!!!
More cruising, bought "The Help" and went to Pinkberry for a healthy frozen yoghurt and a read. More cruising. Went across the road to check out Whole Foods. That place is amazing- best supermarket ever. Everything is natural or close to it, very eco friendly, etc. If I lived here I would shop there. Bus back to hostel via pharmacy (aka candy store). Hopefully nothing melts.... Said goodbye to Curly, and shuttle to airport. Road rules appear to be optional here. There are no roundabouts, no one indicates, and apparently you can drive through a red light if the turn is clear.
Wearing a dress and loose pants for comfort. This is like an open invitation for a body pat down. At least I can wear my wig. This airport is not a fun plavce to be. There are a whole stack of terminals depending on what airline you are flying. This one has only one duty free store. Anyway, hopefully I can sleep a wee bit. Need to preserve energy to cheer on the men in black tomorrow night. Btw- will be editing and updating all entries when I get home. Until then - peace out

Advertisement



15th October 2011

So you didn't end up making it to Venice and SM? What a shame - maybe next time! I LOVE Pinkberry - I went into the one on Sunset Bl (near Ralphs) most nights and got a salted caramel yoghurt....an unlikely combo I know, but surprisingly tasty. It's cool knowing you've been in the same areas that I have, probably took the same bus back from The Grove to Hollywood as well....metro 217 I think....on Fairfax. Ahhh...memories.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb