Hawaii - Day One


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
October 27th 2012
Published: October 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day one - went for a stroll up main strip on Waikiki to check the place out. Great vibe - everyone very laid back. Shops are a (good) mix of beach/convenience/souvineer/ high end fashion. A lot of things are now on my wish list.
Stopped at the cheesecake factory for lunch (they serve proper good as well as the cheesecake). I went here for lunch when I was in Hollywood, and enjoyed it then. Was a bit apprehensive about sitting on my own. Luckily I was seated next to two gentlemen from Perth who invited me to join them. Following lunch we went out to the premium factory outlets. They were ok - most of the shops were too blingy or too preppy for my tastes. Bought a top - I'm subscribing to the theory that you should only buy something that makes you want to do a little dance. Got back maybe <a>6pm</a>. Agreed to meet for drinks /dinner later with aim of having a big night. Went to this beer bar for ore dinner drinks. Might have been called "the yard house". 80 beers on tap. One of the glass sizes was a half yard. One yard later.... Just as we were contemplating migrating to the steak house above, got told that bar was shutting down due to tsunami warning. I'd received the news alert earlier, but they didn't have anything about Hawaii at that time. Went back to hotel - everything was closing, including all convenience stores. Lower levels of the beachfront hotels were being evacuated. We set up camp with our rations and ocean front balcony and we ready to watch the drama unfold.It's probably macabre, but almost hoping something would happen. At some point, tripped and lost my iPhone over the balcony (12 floors). There were tears. Thought perhaps it was God's will I was meant to have an iPhone 5 (the latest version).Anyway, anticlimactic, but the threat was real, and a little bit scary.

Advertisement



30th October 2012

Ah: That would explain why I didn't get a reply to my maternal "Thinking of you and hoping you're ok" text when the tsunami threat occured :P Hook yourself up with an iPhone 5 when you get back, or better yet get one from duty free. How is the weather there now?
30th October 2012

On holiday again?
Who's paying for our practice-retirement if you're not there? Oh...yes....that's right, it's us...

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb