RIHLA #2


Advertisement
North America
September 18th 2011
Published: September 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Why Do Women Still Earn Less Than Men?
1. This article is related to our lessons in world history because we are focusing on the mesopotamian society, which is said to be a patriarchial society. We can compare our American female history to the mesopotmian female history and understand the limits given to women. This way we can see the break through made by women over time. Although our society today isn't really patriarchal, we still have some gender issues. Earnings of a female compared to a male is one of them.
2. The first paragraph and second sentence triggered a deep emotion within me. Personally, I was upset about the fact that women still don't make the fair amount as men do. I thought that today women enjoyed the fair income as men, but, seeing as I'm wrong, this is not true. The pay is even worse for the Hispanic female population. Since I'm Hispanic, that means I wouldnt be making as much as my coworker if I were to take up a job.
3. A question that came to me was why don't the employers enforce fair pay themselves? This would help even out the odds. This question came when the article asked why the time for action took so long. I agreed strongly with the question and developed my own.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb