7 months to go and so many opportunities to flake


Advertisement
North America
June 5th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As I mentioned in my first blog, my parents are in town to visit and so they got to find out all about how their daughter was planning on quiting a perfectly good, albeit young, career to go travel the world (or just SE Asia) by herself for 6 months - all before moving back home to figure out her life. Thankfully, they don't seem to think it's such a bad idea - but then again they do have about 7 months to give it some more thought and realize that it all sounds pretty darn crazy.

Which, in all honesty, is plenty of time for ME to give it some more thought and to realize i've lost my mind. I have been going back and forth lately, between being crazy excited about the prospect of leaving, and wondering if indeed i have lost my damn mind. Am I really going to quit what might actually be a promising career just 3 years in? to go travel by myself? aren't I going to be lonely? what if I can't find a job when I get back? And what about my debilitating, panic attack-inducing phobia of even the smallest, most harmless garden snake?

I think I might have to go ahead and book that non-refundable, non-exchangeable, one-way ticket to Bangkok before I change my mind 😊

But when it comes right down to it, I think I spend way more time getting excited, planning, looking at pictures and prematurely thinking about how to sell my crap, than worrying about all that other stuff - which is a good thing. I've also developed an obsession for looking into all sorts of gadgety, gear crap that I can't afford - which is fun, albeit a waste of time.

Anyways ... this is a bit of rant, isn't it? Sorry 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb