Mesa Verde continued


Advertisement
North America
July 14th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I went up to the camp store to pick up the wireless and blog. Ken stayed back and finished setting things up. As I blogged, many campers arrived. This is a pretty busy place. There are over 400 camp sites, but only 15 are full hookups, which we have one. You have to reserve them in advance. Again, a lot of tent campers.
Ken makes a few phone calls, Jason and Uncle Don. We make dinner: chicken basil sausages, pasta, wine. We can hear children playing; we see a little boy skipping up to the bathrooms. The way he is skipping, he seems so free, not a care in the world. I can remember that feeling, especially when school was out for the summer. You had the whole summer to have fun; what a feeling. And why did I want to grow up? ‘To do what I wanted to do, not be told by anyone what to do”. Boy, was I mistaken. The human dilemma: desiring what you don’t have. I think contentment is one of the best things in life. See the movie—“Shadowlands”
The boy’s mom runs after him.
After dinner we take a walk; I wear a jacket, it is getting chilly. It’s really dark and we take a flashlight to see. We walked through the tent area. There are a lot of people still setting up in the dark. Lots of kids, people holding babies, many campfires. It seems so hectic to me. I remember doing that when we were young. It seems like I had more patience then or maybe we did it just for the kid’s experiences. I certainly had more energy.
Speaking of energy, I seem to be having trouble getting a deep breath. Perhaps the altitude?
We go back to camp, read awhile and go to bed. We leave the windows open; it’s nice and cool.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb