Learning Light at the Santa Fe Workshops


Advertisement
North America
July 4th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wake every morning to cool summer desert air and the sound of birds chirping in the trees and nooks and crannies of statues throughout the monastery around me. Only one of the sister's surfaces, smiling and walking her black lab in the afternoons; the rest are clositered and spend most of their time indoors. Our campus is located on the monastery grounds and I've been amazed at the consistent sense of peace I feel; it comes in quiet waves, calming my nerves during the early mornings and late nights.

It feels like I blindingly stumbled upon this place, but every day I'm here reminds me it's not a mistake.
For those who don't know, I applied on a whim for a workstudy scholarship program in Santa Fe, NM many months ago when I made the decision to 'chase my dreams' and pursue a career in the mucho-competitive industry of photography. The "Santa Fe Photographic Workshops" is a fairly big thumbprint on the map of the photographic community and has helped many hopeful photographer's put their career's into motion. A month after I moved to Portland, they called and asked me to spend the summer with them. I work my tail off in the early mornings and late evenings maintaining the campus and the workshop community, and during the day I participate in intensive week-long workshops with some of the most well known and accomplished photographer's in the industry.

I've had a few requests to send send out some of the images I take in my classes, it's a blast to look over the intensity of my past week and share some of the moments and images with all of you! As I am not currently trotting the globe, this summer blog will have a bit of a twist to it, and if anyone wants to be opted out of my semi-adventurous, non-traveling experience just drop me a line and I'll take you off the list (lyss410@yahoo.com) 😊

My first week, I took 'Lighting Portraits on Location' with a kooky, successful commercial and editorial photographer, Alan Thornton. He was a great teacher and I've emerged at the end of the week with a new pair of eyes and some sweet lighting skills.

I've included a few of my favorites from the week, I hope you enjoy!

Currently I'm a few week's behind schedule with my updates,
Donald Donald Donald

I love this man! He is such a wonderful model and person!
but I will be sending out a blog for every cool class I take. I've discovered it's a bit like summer camp here, complete with drama, exhaustion, new friendships, and bunch of adult photo nerds. Every week has been incredibly stretching, unique...and really fun!!
I'm also sending out a little feature my friend Wendy wrote about the crazy road trip we took from Portland, Oregon to Santa Fe, NM-it feels like a year ago, but it was a blast!

Hope your Fourth of July was awesome! Thanks for taking part in my adventures, I love to have you be a part of them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Playing with 'ring flash'Playing with 'ring flash'
Playing with 'ring flash'

Whatever that is...I swear I did learn something :)
What a stud!What a stud!
What a stud!

The models were like friends by the end of the week, TJ was awesome to work with!
Just messin' around!Just messin' around!
Just messin' around!

My friend Santi and I had some fun after a long day of shooting!
On LocationOn Location
On Location

We went to an abandoned prison rioted and closed down in the 80's-it was creepy and super cool!
MadelineMadeline
Madeline

Love this kid!
ClassmatesClassmates
Classmates

We had a lot of fun together...
RickRick
Rick

The warden at the prison and a sweetheart of a man!
Donner and VUDonner and VU
Donner and VU

Course assistant and studio manager, Santi brings out the best in us :)
MizhanMizhan
Mizhan

Sweet as pie and beautiful!


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb