Travelblog site went down and deleted my entries!


Advertisement
North America
August 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If you've clicked the link to read my travel blog recently, you've realized that the site has been down for a few days now.

Thankfully it got back up today, but the bad news was all of my entries were deleted! I was able to recover most of the ones that were published on the web. The only one missing now is the entry called, "$1500 Cape Cod Challenge: Vacation's over, here's how we did". That entry is the one that detailed our spending for the entire trip to see if we came in under budget.

Funny thing about that entry, according to my statistics, it was the most read entry on my blog...and now it's the only one missing! If you happen to have printed out that entry for your own planning, I would appreciate it if you could send it to me. Otherwise I will try to recreate it from my notes in the next week or so.

Edited to add: The missing entry has been recreated and posted!

Speaking of notes, my biggest losses from the website crash are all of the blogs I'd started but hadn't yet published. I've been using the blog as a notepad and keeping notes on upcoming or potential vacations. I'd been researching Hawaii and Montreal and Quebec and now all my notes are gone. Aaarrrgghh!

I guess the lesson to be learned in all this (for me and for you) is to print out each entry. I should print them to save them for my journal, and you should print them if you want to use them for travel planning. Who knows when or if this website will crash again!?

I'm glad we're back online though, and it's just in time! We leave on Friday for a mini getaway to Chicago. Stayed tuned because you know I'm going to have lots of great tips for you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb