Chicago on a Shoestring: Itinerary Preview


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 10th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My husband's cousin has invited us to his house in Matteson, Illinois. We're excited about going because the kids will be able to see relatives they haven't seen in a long time. If you know me personally, you'd know I couldn't take my family to the state of Illinois without a few day trips to Chicago. My husband and I haven't been back here since we had children. When we came to visit his cousin in 1998, we only spent one day in Chicago. I had gotten us tickets to a taping of the Oprah show. After the taping we went shopping at Niketown and ate at Michael Jordan's restaurant (which I believe is out of business now).

These days an Oprah taping is out of the question; she doesn't take guest members under 18, plus I doubt I'd be able to secure tickets again...that kind of luck doesn't strike twice. I can't give you any pointers for getting your own tickets except to tell you I started calling daily at the end of August and somehow got through by October.

On this trip, I'd like to check out The Navy Pier, and some of the world famous Chicago museums with the kiddos. We have a membership to our local Buffalo Museum of Science. Although our local museum leaves a little bit to be desired, one of the best benefits of having a membership is the reciprocal privileges you get with other national museums. There are several places in Chicago that will offer us free admission with our Buffalo membership card. I'd also like to do some more shopping at Niketown, The Lego Store and the Disney Store. Since we don't have any daughters we don't have to worry visiting The American Girl Place, but to be honest with you, I'd add that to the itinerary in a heartbeat if I thought my boys would let me get away with it.

Somehow, I want to fit all of this in and still be under $500 total. Can I do it? Well, we leave this afternoon so stay tuned to find out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb