America The Beautiful


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 10th 2012
Published: September 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We just had dinner and it is not bedtime yet so I will try to tell you about some of the most amazing natural sights ever. Mount Rushmore was awesome and getting there was interesting. It was a bit of a trek up and down and up and down other mountains and hills. I kept thinking the mountain should come into view at any moment. But despite it's size you really don't see it until you 'get there'. The first sight of this great landmark took my breath away. It is hard to imagine this is a man made work of art. It seems impossible, yet there it is. It inspires such pride to be part of this country and of the people who made this dream a reality. It is a must see for anyone who can make it possible to get there.

We went from Rushmore to the Crazy Horse Monument which is similar to Mount Rushmore but on a much larger scale. At this point only his face is finished and that took 15 years to do. We got to see a small sculpture of the finished project and it seems impossible to do. This sculpture will be 'Crazy' with his horse and the top half of his body and I know it will not be finished in my lifetime, but would love to see the finished project. This monument is not very well known at this point in time but we learned the history behind the creator and artist behind this project and it is an amazing story and one well worth following. Look up the facts behind this project if you have any time or interest.

Another amazing sight was our ride across the central plains states. It was as flat as the eye could see and I could almost see Laura Ingalls running across the field. It should have been boring but it was not (at least not for the first few hours). Then suddenly I looked out the front window (I had been reading and head bobbing (napping) for a period of time) and these glorious mountains/hills appeared. They were colored beautifully in blues and pinks and and I was disappoinated I had not noticed them even earlier. I could never have imagined that I would find these outdoor, natural visions so astounding. If they could impress me, they surely will inspire those people who liked nature to begin with.

I will use another blog to tell the story of our trip over the Rockies today. They also took my breath away but in a totally different way. I was terrified. Well tomorrow we are off to yellowstone and old faithful. I will let you know how that goes. Good night for now and hopefully you will get some amazing pictures soon. I don't know how to do it, but I e-mailed them to Dan and hopefully he can attach them.

Advertisement



10th September 2012

You Go Girl!
Dear Karen, I started off my slow Monday with catching up on your blog. You are doing a great job and I love hearing your stories. It seems all the natural wonders are really connecting with you. Hope you got to gamble in a better place and I am very proud you didn't buy anything at the little gift shop!!!! This is such a fun way to not miss you soooooo much! Hugs, Sharon
10th September 2012

HI
Karen - It sounds like you guys are having a wonderful time!!! Enjoy your vacation and I look forward to your blogs. When you get back, please let me know so we can have lunch together. I would love to see you - its been a while!! Please give everyone my best! Stacey

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb