Road Trip USA 2006, Part 6


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 24th 2006
Published: June 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've had some helpful and thoughtful comments on my chapter headed "potential disappointments", so with thanks to Joe for taking the time to write, here's my response to his suggestions. I'm not quite sure how to contact him, so my acknowledgement to him has to be like this. I hope he reads it.

1. Yes, I realise that the "best" time for tornadoes is May-July, but as both cash and time are relevant to my holiday, I have to compromise somehow: October is, overall best. I'm sure that Wakita only has a small museum, but I'm sure I can "live with that", and be content with actually being in a place that experiences the twisters. Thank you also for the other links, etc.

2/3. I'm allowing three days from Oklahoma City to Albuquerque; Tucumcari is provisionally on my itinerary. I'm sure I've got the Jimmie Rodgers record somewhere at home!

4. Good

5. I'll have a look at Mapquest, and see how your thoughts fit in with everything else.

6. Thanks: I'll try the Albuquerque car rental places, although since I drafted this reply, I’ve had a fairly major re-think on the portion of the journey westward from Oklahoma. In short, I’ll only hire a car for two days, still visit Wakita, but stop off at Guthrie OK on my way back to Oklahoma before taking the afternoon Greyhound to Amarillo for an overnight stay there. Personally, I’d prefer Tucumcari, but Greyhound does have a stop there the following day.

I think all this will work, and is provisional at present, and doesn't take any time out of my trip


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb