Jackrabbits


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 9th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What a long night! I drove from Moriarity to Vaughn, then Roswell to almost Midland. Roswell at 3am is where it got interesting. Every 50 feet or so, a jackrabbit would be sitting on the side of the road , facing the brush. As I got close it would dash off into the brush. I lost count of how many there were. I started to wonder why. Survival instincts probably get them facing away from the road. But what makes them come to the road? Logically, I think it must have something to do with the asphalt, cooling or warming them. I'll have to Google it later. Then the bored, silly, sleepy brain starts to think that maybe way beyond the reach of the high beams, rabbits are stretched out on their bellies in the middle of the road, and as I approach they are actually leaving the road. Then I imagine a rousing game of Red Rover. Oh my. Lol! All in all I saw 2 deer, 1 antelope, an owl, 1 suicidal rabbit, and dozens of others headed for the hills. Sorry, no spaceships. Who knew 3 am, just East of Roswell, could be so entertaining?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb