Catch up - a few days since our arrival


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 12th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so will post a bit of what Ive written in my diary so far, promise in future the posts will be shorter!

USA Tue 3 May

This last week has been the slowest week since leaving home a month ago. Spent recovering from the horror flight from Rarotonga (ok so it could have been much worse but sleep depravation does funny things to the mind and body), catching up with friends and family before setting off on the next leg of our journey.

So I sit now in the Tom Bradley International Terminal at LAX having just arrived from Auckland at 6.30am local time. Our next flight to Dallas in a couple of hours, then Amarillo. Running low on battery and with a brain fried from the travel, and two flights left – unaware of the small dramas to follow…
My first thought as I exit the plane and the one that intensified the further on I went was… “Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore…”


Day 3 in America
We arrive in Amarillo after a surprisingly pleasant flight and feeling pretty good at this stage we go to collect our bags. However only one bag is ejected from the baggage carousel, unfortunately being Pauls which was of course basically empty! My bag is not in sight and apparently still in Dallas! This did not make for a happy camper! While I tried to come to terms with the fact that I will be in the same clothes for some time still and no makeup, Paul contemplates our next move – stay and find a motel for the night ( which would then present further uncertainties as to where and how to get there), or to find a ride (yet another uncertain scenario), onto Dalhart. After some time of wondering what on earth this next move would be, we were approached by a guy who asked if we where from Auckland. He was there to pick us up and take us to a motel.

A great room, fantastic dinner at the Texas Roadhouse, and a good nights sleep was in order and we woke the next morning to yet further complications as to how to get to Dalhart. After a long walk to find the Social Security office (in completely the wrong direction I might add), and back to the motel to be told that my bag has been delivered. But wait – no its not my bag at all! Daniel arrives to pick us up, we drive around and find the previously mentioned office, fill the necessary requirements for me to work in the United States of America, then head to airport to figure out the bag saga.

It seems some poor guy, oblivious to the baggage saga has had my bag delivered to his hotel and his to ours. We must leave Amarillo and the hope that the airline will figure it all out and return the appropriate bags to the correct travellers! In the meantime a stop is made at Walmart for a few essential supplies that cannot wait for the resolution.

So now I sit and reflect on my first days here in Texas, with Paul attempting to set up the new phones in his very best Texan accent because the automated system cannot understand his Kiwi accent! The feelings and emotions have been many and varied. And I admit there have even been a few tears. Yesterday there was no way I thought I could actually get in a car and drive in this strange and dusty country, totally freaked out at the events of getting here, the wide open expanse of desert and dust for miles and miles and the horrors of the trailer park that I now call home.
But a new day, a good nights sleep and the very welcomed arrival of my makeup, clothes and jewellery, made for a successful maiden drive on the wrong side of the road, in the wrong side of the car! Im beginning to think that maybe, just maybe I can actually do this. Time will tell!

Todays highlight after driving – finding the biggest ever turkey at the supermarket 23lbs (apx 11kilos) for $23US

Fri 6 May

Today is my first day of work, Paul left this morning before 6am, and in just under 45mins I will head out on my own and drive the hour long drive to Clayton, New Mexico to look after twin boys of 4yrs, a girl of 6, and a 13yr old boy, whom we met yesterday when we had to pick him up from school with a suspected broken ankle – poor kid, was in so much pain. The Mom has also asked that I help look after her, so I guess I’m kinda a nanny/PA. They have the most amazing house, indeed a mansion, but in keeping with the American way, the house is very dark and has very few windows! Still should be a great place to work.

Daniel didn’t arrive home from work till midnight last night, a long day for sure and I hope that it is not repeated today, as once I get home and have gotten dinner ready for Paul and Daniels unknown arrival, there is not much else for me to do with no internet as yet and no books to read! Hm what to do??!! Most certainly do need to clean the house – its cute but a tad grubby.

8.15pm Texas time: just got home from work a little while ago. Made it there and back! Had a whopping headache for the last couple of hours at work but seems to be slowly disappearing.
The kids are great – a handful for sure- but cool kids. Gonna take a bit to figure out the boys, being identical and all. So I’ve spent the day playing and cleaning. Exhausted, I’ve come home to prepare dinner for Paul and Daniel (and myself).
The house is amazing! The twins share, but apart from that, they each have their very own large bedroom, bathroom and huge walk-in-wardrobe! And it is ALL tidy!

Sat 7 May
After a short but reasonable nights sleep and I was off to face day two at work. Not meant to be working Saturdays but Paul is and seeing as I have no TV, internet or books at home, I may as well be at work. And work I did! The morning spent in the garden and keeping an eye on the kids at the same time. Whew was it hot and hard work, think I might be a bit sore tomorrow – but I can sleep in and maybe go find a church.
Its Mothers Day at home today and here tomorrow. Wonder if Daniel has anything planned?! Yeah right!

Sun 8 May
And a most welcome sleep in for me, although I do feel a little guilty staying in bed while Paul and Daniel head off early at 6am. But soon get over it and am back to sleep until 9.30 when Daniel rings to wish me a Happy Mothers Day –aw nice.
Spend the rest of the day cleaning out the cupboards and contents, the filthy windows and sills etc. Cook a chicken for cold meat for the boys and bake a cake, but far out can it get any hotter! It is SO SO hot!!! But Paul was right and I am not sweating! But it feels like a sauna and that’s inside!! So heres hoping that I don’t expire of heat exhaustion or gas inhalation from the dodgy gas oven! Not sure if I should lay for a nap or not!

Tue 10 May
Today in America is Rebekahs birthday, but actually she had it at home yesterday. The day started horrible as I felt so far away from her and just wanted to cry when I arrived at work…but I pulled myself together and put on a happy face. Checked my emails etc and hung out till the boys got home at which time I got a massive blood nose! My poor body is having a wee bit of a hard time adjusting to the change in, well just about everything. Its SO dry and dusty that cant be good for the nasal passages.
Driving home tonight I was feeling pretty confident – for now- but as I am beginning to realise I am rapidly developing a love/hate relationship with Texas.
Love the kids Im working with, and their mom, and of course there is their house – who cant love that!
Hate the fact that I actually have to drive myself over there, but we’re working on this one, not sure though that it will ever become a ‘love’
Love that Texas is so full of BLING!! It’s the norm! sparkles, bling and embellishments on anything and everything – I am in heaven – ok not really – heaven will be nothing like Texas!
Hate that everyone tucks their shirts into their jeans, and wears jeans ALL the time, and long sleeves. You can sure pick out the Kiwis that are here!
And so the list goes on and Im sure that with each new day there will be new opportunities and experiences and not all will be of the happy variety, but Im a big girl now and gotta do this! Oh please God help me!
(and yes Ive said 'mom' - Ive gotta start learning 'american' otherwise the kids dont understand me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb