Never was I prepared for what my travels were about to reveal


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 28th 2004
Published: April 28th 2004
Edit Blog Post

 As I slowly get readjusted to the American way of life and start my first real job out of college, it seems like I was never even in Australia and New Zealand.  Though it seems like a year ago that I was half way across the world, I could never forget the people I met, the experiences I’ve had, and my new knowledge of the world and cultures.  I had the best opportunity to travel; just graduated from college, no real job, no boyfriend, and didn’t know what I wanted to do…so I spent 7 months traveling a.k.a. “backpacking.”  Before I left I was too organized knowing exactly what I was going to be doing when I woke up to when I went to bed, I didn’t know what countries made up the UK, I didn’t realize the rivalry between Canada and the U.S., I was too career driven, I stressed out when things didn’t go as planned, I couldn’t fit my clothes into one backpack, I never traveled alone, and I was confused on what to do with my life.  No one could prepare me for what I was about to encounter and no job could teach me what I learned on my travels. 
 The original traveling plan was to work for 3 months preferably in a marketing firm and then travel the last month.  I soon learned that this wasn’t enough time to see everything and encountered backpackers traveling for at least one year.  I also learned that a backpack and a suitcase for 4 months was way too much to bring compared to everyone else’s 1 backpack for 1 year.  So, the original plan was constantly changing and not one thing seemed to go as planned…working in a marketing firm turned into working in a café for 2 days, babysitting, working for 3 minute angels giving massages to people in pubs, and working in an Irish Pub.  My 4 months away soon turned into 7 months and in this short time, a lot happened!!
 To tell the story, it all began in Sydney…well except for waiting in L.A. for 4 days to receive my traveling companion’s (Brie) working visa and then a short visit to Fiji.  Brie and I made it to our hostel in the Central Business District of Sydney meeting our English friend, Emma, who became one of our best “mates” in Australia.  Being in the CBD was a bit stressful so we decided to take Emma’s suggestion to head over to Coogee Beach.  The Wizard of Oz was the best backpacking hostel experience because I will never forget the people I met there and the time I spent hanging out in the living area, drinking on the porch, sharing stories, walking down the hallway to take a shower, and sleeping in bunk beds all added to the memorable moments of Australia. 
 The people I met there and elsewhere were great and from all parts of the world, but I soon noticed that I was out of place and outnumbered.  You see, Americans don’t backpack, Americans don’t travel, Americans are naïve about the world, and Americans don’t have long holidays working too much.  I couldn’t count on my hands how many backpackers and locals were surprised to see me as a traveling American and how they revealed their opinions on “us.”  Traveling I didn’t meet many fellow Americans and the few I did encounter added to the stereotype of being loud, obnoxious, and unworldly.  They say that Americans will put Canadian flags on their backpacks or pretend to be Canadian in order to prevent from being criticized and mocked.  I never went to this extent though there were several times I was embarrassed of my country.
 One example included the time I was traveling on the bus down the East Coast talking to a Dutch couple next to me and only to hear comments about my country from behind me.  Mind you, this was at the time Sadam Hussein had just been captured and they said, “America is so self-centered and I can’t believe that only 70%!o(MISSING)f their country holds passports!”  This upset me and I hate to think that people are so resentful towards our country.  One Scottish girl said I should be in office because she was so excited that I was traveling and my views on the world were open-minded.  The main thing I got out of our conversation was that I was one person from my country and wasn’t responsible for the actions or mistakes we’ve made.  The funny thing is that we are the leading country and people from other countries are intrigued by the US and though we make mistakes, we are only human.  Wars will come and go, leaders will rule and be terminated, scandals will be revealed, terrorism will still exist, morality will always be an issue, controversies will never be settled, and the only thing to do for your country is to be prideful listening to other sides of the world.  The one thing the USA needs to change is to go outside of our country and learn about the people and countries that lie beyond.  Traveling is the only way to learn about the world and its inhabitants.
 I learned how to take the criticism and opened myself to other cultures.  My brief geography lesson in grade school was completely gone from my memory, as I had to be reacquainted with which countries were in what continents and that all of Ireland wasn’t part of the United Kingdom!  I also was taught a few history lessons and experienced various traditional events.  To name a few: Boxing Day at the Horse Races (the day after Christmas where everyone has the opportunity to recuperate or just drink with mates), the Celtic vs. Ranger game where the Irish and Scottish sing and dance to all of their hundreds of folk songs, Fijian Kava ceremony drinking Kava out of coconut shells, the New Zealand Maori cultural show with song and dance, Australian Rugby game, and so much more.
 In addition to becoming a “worldly person,” I learned more about myself changing views and ways of living.  I think that my suited job would have been a professional organizer and after finding out how things don’t go as planned, I may reevaluate my career.  Where do I even start on my constantly changing plans?  The big unexpected events were when Brie had her accident leaving Australia to go back to the states and extending my traveling time.  These events forced me to be on my own without sharing decisions with someone else; scared, confused, and alone: YES! Everything worked out and who is to say what would happen if these events didn’t occur.  It made me even more independent and more of an effort to meet people.  Everyday was different and it was like trying to plan when you’re going to meet your soul mate.  In New Zealand I never knew what I was going to do each day because either the weather or talking to people on the bus influenced my decisions.  At one point, the bus driver had told me he was scared for me because I was so unorganized!  Other things that happened to me were having my wallet stolen with my driver’s license, breaking my camera, my camera’s memory card with all my pictures was stolen, losing my credit card, my health at risk and having to see a doctor, and losing half of what I had brought with me.  Encountering all these things, I now live by the day, hardly ever look at my planner, and don’t stress out when unexpected events occur!
 Some of these “unexpected events” put a toll on my emotions.  How many times did I hear you’re going to fall in love or meet the man of your dreams?!  The strangest relationships are those you make when traveling because you either meet up again at different parts of your traveling or meet up in another country or you may never have the opportunity to meet again.  You become close to people in a matter of 3 days or you can develop an emotional relationship in 2 months only to have to conceal your emotions and live off the memories.  The best part of my trip was I had met so many amazing people in Sydney and promised to reunite at Christmas time.  The reunion was bittersweet with an “extended” Christmas and New Years never to forget.  Throughout my travels I had said hello and goodbye several times to particular people and the goodbyes were always sad.  As I have said before everyone you meet adds something to you and affects you in one way or another…maybe I will be involved in politics, maybe I won’t be so career driven, maybe I want to see the rest of the world, maybe I will take more risks.
 Everything that I learned and the friends I made was equally satisfying as what I saw.  I saw the most amazing scenery, vivid colors, wild animals, mountains extending for hundreds of miles, luscious waterfalls, and pure white sandy beaches.  My pictures are proof of the beauty of nature and the formed landscapes.  Driving along Australia’s Great Ocean Road, every lookout point was a Kodak picture, but walking onto the cliff looking over the ocean to see the famous 12 Apostles was breathtaking.  There were so many moments that took my breath away seeing a sea turtle in the Great Barrier Reef, walking along the deserted beach that meets the rainforest, seeing Kangaroos in the wild, having a champagne sunset by Ayers Rock, sky diving over the active Lake Taupo, cruising within Milford Sound seeing dolphins jumping out of the water, flying over New Zealand’s great mountains and waterfalls, sand boarding on acres of sand dunes, unbelievable sunsets over the ocean, driving along the countryside of Fiji, and seeing playful seals lay upon the rocks.  This is why I will continue to travel to see the beauties of the world.  I have decided that before I die I want to see the 7 natural wonders of the world and much more.
 I can’t describe my trip in one word nor can I name my favorite place.  I think about those 7 months abroad all the time when a certain song is played or something sparks a particular memory.  It is sad that I don’t get to talk about it more often and that now back at home you face reality making responsible decisions about life and not what pub to drink at first.  I thank all the people that made this an experience one to remember forever and I hope that I influence more people to travel the lands beyond America.  I now have the travel bug and it is hard to get rid of.  When the time is right and the money is rolling in, I will be off on my next trip.  This time I am going to know more about what to expect and how to live the life of a backpacker with sharing a room with 10 others and wearing the same clothes for months at a time.  As I said in the beginning “No one could prepare me for what I was about to encounter and no job could teach me what I learned on my travels.”
 
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb