Designing the Move: How I Skipped the Country


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 16th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I would like to say that the move was easy, but I would be lying. It was one of the most challenging things I have ever done in my life. Leaving my boyfriend, my town which I had loved in and succeeded in for 10 years, my dog (this was by far the hardest part), my job (which I had so invested in), my family and friends; it was not a cake walk, that’s for certain. I had to stay strong and remind myself everyday of all the reasons that I was drawn to this other country that seemed so distant at this point. So I had purchased the ticket, but I honestly had no other plans. If travelling teaches us nothing else, it shows us that no matter what, things will work out. It was on this faith that I leveraged my future path. So I started looking for work. The wine market was tight. The American and New Zealand economies were struggling and there were many highly qualified industry players such as myself looking for work. Nevertheless, I put my best foot forward and sent off my resumes.
I lucked out, that’s all I can say. The timing was right and my knowledge of the American wine market was desirable. I landed a job with a family-run vineyard based in Marlborough, exactly where I wanted to be. To be honest, all I wanted was to live out the rest of my days in Marlborough, I didn’t care if I made peanuts for pay, but this position offered so much more than I ever could have dreamed. For 6-8 months of the year I would be based in Marlborough, working on the local market; but, for the rest of the year, I would be travelling the world to meet with their importers and distributors in various markets. Unbelievable! I couldn’t have fathomed a job as excellent as this. The best part - they are paying me good money to do it. Wow!
So, I know it sounds cliché, but I have to say that I am now a firm believer in following your dreams, even if you can’t see the path ahead, take that step and if it is truly in the right direction, everything else will fall into place. It did for me, and I am confident it will for anyone else. The hardest part is deciding what it is that you truly want, once you figure that, the world is your oyster - or green shelled mussel, or whatever….



Advertisement



11th July 2010

wow
you are an inspiration! how did u turn out so well and so, so much wiser than...well, you can be my teacher!

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb