The Happy Wanderer Chapter 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 30th 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Coat RockCoat RockCoat Rock

One of the rest stop areas had many wild rock formations. I liked this one. I thought it looked like several coats were draped over a big stone.
December 31 We took it easy today. Had a leisurely breakfast and then drove on to Benson, AZ. The land is really changeable around here. We drove through one section where the rocks were black. I decided it must have been a volcano area at one time and the rocks were the result of a lava flow. Another area was full of huge boulders all tumbled about and stacked atop one another. There was a nice rest stop area there. Good thing! It allowed me to get some pictures. After we got to the RV park in Benson, we decided to stay put this evening since it is New Year's Eve. I went over to Dan and Joy's RV and we brought in the New Year together.

January 1—Happy New Year from Arizona! We went touring today, going first to the little mining town of Bisbee. It reminded me of Globe, the town in central Arizona that I visited last year with friends. The mining has played out, but the mining strips could still be seen. The town is an artsy place with a lot of people dressed like hippies in colorful clothes. There were galleries and clothing stores with
Gator HouseGator HouseGator House

I wondered if this home owner was a fan of the U of Florida Gators!
tie-die outfits. The houses were sometimes painted in bright colors and built on the sides of the hills. Their city administration building looked like a church, except the sculptures were of miners. It was a very picturesque town. There was a big Victorian looking hotel and one of the buildings used to be a large brewery, famous in the area. I saw picturesque steps and doors that were interesting. It was a fun place to look around. We saw several cars that was wildly decorated and painted. And for all my friends in Florida who are Gator fans (the University of Florida) I took a picture of a house painted in their colors.

While touring we also drove to the town of Tombstone, the “town too tough to die.” Our first stop was at the Tombstone Cemetery. I'm not totally sure the cemetery is real, since there is an admission fee to see it, but it certainly looks like there are graves there of people who once lived in the town. There are all sorts of ethnic and cultural names, including Oriental and Hispanic ones. The three men killed in the gunfight at OK Corral are buried there. The
Bronze DoorsBronze DoorsBronze Doors

These doors were not on a church, but the city administrative building in Bisbee.
cemetery is located on a hill with quite a view. It is well kept and very peaceful.

After touring the cemetery and reading tombstones, we drove on down the hill into town. What a picturesque place! The people there have kept it as much like the old West as possible. Many of the merchants even dress in period costumes. I was told that the daily gunfight is now held in a staging area, instead of on main street where it used to be. For “safety” they said, but they also charge admission for it, too. The towns people have to have some way of making a living!! The cowboys roamed the streets however, and worked themselves up for a good scrap! I could imagine the action—just like in the movies.

The town was very clean and a pleasure to visit. We didn't eat there, but it looked like there was a good choice of places. There were also a lot of souvenier shops, some art galleries and stores with Indian art and crafts. I also visited a bar, which held western shows in the evenings. They let me take pictures inside which I appreciated. Tombstone also boasts the
Crazy CarCrazy CarCrazy Car

This car had just about everything on it. I saw two more similar ones in Bisbee.
world's largest rose bush. Again, there was an admission fee and since it is too early in the year for it to be blooming, I didn't bother to pay. Maybe someday I will go back at the right time.

Tombstone is not on the Interstate which makes it a side trip for travelers, but I thought it was well worth it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Bottle-cap DoorBottle-cap Door
Bottle-cap Door

This store was closed while we were there, so I am not sure what it was. The door and entrance was decorated with hundreds of beer bottle caps.
Goats on a LeashGoats on a Leash
Goats on a Leash

This man was walking around Bisbee with two goats and a dog on leashes. I caught him on a break. The goats behaved themselves very well!!!
Funny TombstoneFunny Tombstone
Funny Tombstone

There were several irreverent tombstones in this cemetery!
Stagecoach ArrivingStagecoach Arriving
Stagecoach Arriving

One of the rides around Tombstone.
Carved BenchCarved Bench
Carved Bench

One of several unique benches on the sidewalks at Tombstone.
The SheriffThe Sheriff
The Sheriff

The Sheriff on duty at Tombstone. He was watching the men down the street get into an argument, but kindly agreed to pose for a picture.
Things Heating UpThings Heating Up
Things Heating Up

These men were circling around the street and looked like they were getting ready for the big showdown!
Tombstone BarTombstone Bar
Tombstone Bar

Very colorful saloon/bar that featured a nightly show.


7th June 2010

Boy, Bisbee has changed since I was there many, many years ago. I have always wanted some Bisbee Blue Turquoise. It was terribly expensive at that time, so never did get any of it. Maybe someday. They were still doing the gunfights on the street when I was in Tombstone. Lots of changes. Those rocks surely do look like coats! How interesting. Am looking forward to reading the next entry and seeing your great pictures.
8th June 2010

Glenda, thanks for the comments. I think Joyce bought a necklace in Casa Grande that had Bisbee turquoise in it. See chapter 5.
9th June 2010

It DOES look like a bunch of coats! It sounds like I should move to Bisbee. Their houses sound like a dream come true to me. : ) And that is THE coolest car
9th June 2010

Good eye!
I didn't get to finish my comments. I pressed submit on accident. Anyway, that car is just incredible. I love it You took such eye catching pictures! They are all so good I can't decide which is my favorite.
9th June 2010

Hi, anonymous. thanks for reading the blog and comments. Bisbee was a pretty cool place.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 61; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb